Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-16-2017, 05:06 PM   #1

Water heater won’t stay lit

Atwood 6gal water heater. I have read and re-read the owners manual. It is an absolutely terrible owners manual, just like every manual that comes with Jayco RVs. I can’t even determine which model of controller I have (white Rogers or Robert Shaw).
My water heater will not stay lit. The LP is turned on and I flipped the switch. It will light for about 10 sec then shut off. It will try this 3 times then stop. I checked my LP and one tank is empty and the other is about 25% remaining. I don’t know how to work my LP regulator/switch valve as I have never used one before. I just use 1 tank and when it runs out is close it and open the other. I did turn the arrow to the tank with LP remaining and opened that tank. I checked my fuse by the pilot and it seems perfect. I don’t have a backup. We lit the stovetop for about 5min and it burns clean. Have 2 lights on the control panel when it is on. One light stays lit as long as the switch inside is On and the other blinks when the pilot is lighting or trying to light.

PS, I did get the pilot area a little wet today while I was cleaning and conditioning the roof and exterior. But most of it seems dry
The last photo should be rotated 90degrees clockwise
Attached Thumbnails
746E8868-F029-41BE-B9F3-8606CAF45D69.jpg   6073160A-6DC8-4EB4-A151-B3BB50AFC970.jpg   4D01A3DA-E63E-40AB-A223-8D78026B50FB.jpg  
kirkdl9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 05:30 PM   #2

Can I take my 20lb LP tanks and just exchange them anywhere just like a BBQ grill? For example I believe the Walmart here carries Blue Rhino. I’d prefer to get full talks before I troubleshoot anymore. I heard low LP can cause the pilot to not want to behave.
Old 12-16-2017, 05:47 PM   #3