Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-18-2020, 12:51 PM   #1

Wind vs Awning

As a newbie, I trying to figure out how much wind is too much for an awning. I know not to leave down unattended. But hot Texas afternoons can get breezy. I see some movement in the arms and awning movement. Just don’t know how much each can handle.
Mike_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 01:31 PM   #2

Honestly I do not know how much wind an awning can handle. I have never lost one. With that said, I do keep my electric awning out (tipped), and in fair amount of breeze and heavy rain and have never had an issue.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 01:39 PM   #3

I keep mine out for breezes. When I leave and in the evening I bring it in. Thunder storms I always bring it in. I lost one a few years ago during a storm in the evening just as I opened the door to bring in I watched it fly over the roof. I believe we lost at least 7 in our area that night. It was what I would describe as a microburst.
smoothy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 01:47 PM   #4

In Wind vs Awning the wind always wins. At what point is up to you. I always bring it in at night and when away even if for only a few minutes. I am very conservative with it and bring it in if the gusts get to about 15 mph (about a club and a half for the golfers reading).
Old 06-18-2020, 01:52 PM   #5

We sometimes hook water jugs to the outside corners of the awning with a long strap or rope. This helps hold the awning in place. This is good for light to moderate winds.

Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W (solar & many other mods)
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)