Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2017, 07:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munford
Posts: 149
Wires?

I've used the search function and I can't find an answer to this question.

I'll admit that I haven't read any manuals yet, but in my defense my wife has been visiting our son and our newest grandson in Idaho for the past two weeks. What with keeping up with taking care of the horses, five dogs, two cats and all of the other chores around here I haven't had much down time.

So, what are these wires for above the drain pipe,?
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1370.jpg  
Johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 07:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 3,213
Just a wild guess, but could it be pre-wired for a macerator pump? A fairly large gauge power and ground at first glance. Is there voltage present in the wires?
__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 08:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munford
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbbyr View Post
Just a wild guess, but could it be pre-wired for a macerator pump? A fairly large gauge power and ground at first glance. Is there voltage present in the wires?
To be honest I haven't had time to check to see if there is power. My multimeter is sitting right there in the garage too. I'm hoping you are right about it being pre-wired for a macerator since I have one on order.
Johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 10:20 PM   #4
Member
 
KennyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: "True North" Canada
Posts: 57
X2 prewiring for a Macerator Pump
KennyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 06:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munford
Posts: 149
Okay, yesterday I sent the picture above to the dealer and asked them to identify these wires. They just sent me the following text message:

"Taked to David in service and he said they were your running lights that are capped off there."

I suppose it's possible, but it sure doesn't make any sense to me. Why would they cap off the running light wires in an exposed location?

I've sent an e-mail with a copy of the above picture to Jayco. I'll see what they say about it.
Johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 12:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bearcat77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Fairfield
Posts: 214
I was wondering the same thing. Ours are set a little farther in, directly under the freshwater drains. The wires get absolutely drenched every time we drain. Can't imagine that's the best spot to cap off those wires.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bearcat77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:08 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munford
Posts: 149
Alright, I just got the e-mail response from Larry Elswick at Jayco. He said that they are indeed the prep wires for the macerator option, so you fellows were right and the service department at my dealer was wrong. I know, a real shocker there, right?

I've already received the macerator pump I ordered so I guess now I can get it rigged up to work.
Johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 3,213
Good news! Did you find where it is fused and whether there already is the proper fuse in place?

I bought a pump for my Seneca, need to do my install project too. Probably will still do slinky at most campsites, but need to pump it here at home.
__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munford
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbbyr View Post
Good news! Did you find where it is fused and whether there already is the proper fuse in place?

I bought a pump for my Seneca, need to do my install project too. Probably will still do slinky at most campsites, but need to pump it here at home.
I haven't had a chance to even look at it yet, but I will be looking into it now that I know what they are.
Johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.