Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-09-2016, 06:05 AM   #1

2011 Jayco 1006 bike rack suggestions

Hello everyone,

I am really new to the camping adventure. I am trying to figure out how to get four bikes onto the top of the pop up. I thought about using my existing bike rack between the car and trailer, but I am really leaning towards the top of pop up.
There are bars on the top of the pop up and I assume I would need cross bars and then bike holders. I would rather NOT take the front tires off when transporting.
Does anyone have comments, suggestions, anything?????

As of now, it will cost me about $400 for the set up. Even if there is a higher cost with a better solution, I am all for it.

Thanks in advance for this newbie,

David
david0619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 07:36 AM   #2

I just built mine using a 2x4, eye-bolts, Sunlite Bike block (google them or look on certain online auction site) and some web straps. I will try and post pics when I get home. Everything came from the HW store except the bike blocks which I bought online.

Cut the 2x4 to length across the camper (mine was just under 7'), I cut the ends at a miter angle of 45 so the straps were not going over a 90 deg corner. With the left over cutoff (10' long board) I cut three spacer "legs". These were about 1' long and attached to the main board at perpendicular angles, two at end end and one in the middle. The end boards needed additional 1/2" spacers to make everything sit flat on the top of the camper. I glued indoor/outdoor carpet to the underside of these legs to protect the top of the camper. (the carpet was available as free samples at one of the local big box stores, just took half a dozen of them and some trimming).