Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-02-2019, 11:07 AM   #1

2019 Jay Sport 12SC New Owner Questions

Hello everyone... I recently purchased a new Jayco Jay Sport 12SC and had quite a few questions. I feel like an idiot on some of these, but I am a total newb when it comes to towing and recreation.

• When towing the camper trailer, should it be level or slightly raised at the hitch?
  • Does the camper trailer brakes auto engage unless connected via the 7-pin towing cable? The reason I ask is I was reversing the camper trailer into my drive way after a quick setup in front to season it, and I noticed the brakes squealing a lot every time I reversed. As soon as I connected the 7-pin towing cable, it stopped. Did I damage anything?
  • The camper trailer came with two supports to cover the lifter support columns. We were told these should go on the diagonal for additional support and only two were required. Did we get stiffed out of two additional supports or is it just two total? Does Jayco sell these if I wanted to buy two more for additional support?
  • I put my Level Mate Pro on the inside of the side cabinet door just directly to the right of the door. This was the closest to the front that I could get while still being able to open the camper trailer door, open the cabinet door, and flip the on-off switch from standing next to it. I'm curious where everyone else put theirs?
  • For my level mate pro I used 85" wide and 177" length. Can someone corroborate? I did my measurements in the dark, seems right, but I might be off on length a little.
  • We've noticed several small holes or tears in the tent material in a few places near the Velcro on the sides of the pull-out dinette section. Does Jayco repair / cover these under warranty? I'm trying to figure out if we should take it to a dealer to have them fixed / repaired.