Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-06-2018, 10:55 AM   #1

Adjustable ball mount question

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to having a truck and trying to get used to towing a few things, but had a question on adjustable ball mounts. I imagine they are useful but there seems to be so many brands and configurations it's hard to say what I might need, or what styles to stay away from. I will be towing my 2000 Jayco Qwest camper, a smaller utility trailer, possibly a larger one and maybe a fishing boat down the road, nothing huge.

I was looking at the following for example and while it seems ok, i'm concerned that the drop/rise is in 2" increments. Is that likely to limit what I can tow or is it really a non issue? Not sure if I should get one that does 1" just in case. I do like that it has the 1-7/8 and 2" balls already so it would match what I need, just not sure if there's better out there for the buck (while realizing we aren't talking about heavy loads or big bucks here).

https://www.princessauto.com/en/deta...nt/A-p8683021e

Any thoughts? I drive a 2018 GMC Sierra SLE stock, so not lifted or anything.

Thank you
Kravan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 02:21 PM   #2

The item you show seems a bit overkill. I had an '02 GMC, stock like yours, and the 2" drop was perfect. It's available at Wal-Mart.

Level your trailer(s) and measure your coupler height at the top. Measure the bottom edge of your truck's receiver height. If they are similar, a 2" offset will be close. Your link to the $90 hitch does, however, offer more adjustment and both popular ball sizes.

Jerry B.
"Stateboy" (Formerly "36fire412")
SW Lower Michigan
2016 X254
2012 Toyota Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4
stateboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 04:45 PM   #3