Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-20-2013, 04:13 AM   #1

Centurion CS3000

G'day all.

I'm new to the forums and new to the world of Jayco campers. I'm a mechanic by trade but I'm scratching my head on this one.

Here goes.

I'm wiring in a deep cycle as my Penguin camper doesn't have one. Now I've done alot of research and to no avail. First off, where is the correct spot to wire in the battery to the converter??
I have tapped into the + (red) and - (white) that comes straight from the back of the converter before it attaches to a buss bar. While it works and I have power to just the lights so far, I don't have any power to the power points in the camper. I have also tried tapping into the individual circuit wires aswell (blue) (blue w/yellow) (blue w/White) in attempts to isolate whether it was a single circuit I'm looking for. Everything works 100% when plugged into mains power but only lights seem to work on 12v.

Second thing i noticed is that when I run off the deep cycle, the fan on the converter isn't working. It works on mains power though so I'm thinking maybe this has something to do with the battery being wired in wrong? Is this normal?

Can anyone shed some light on this? I have been over fuses and breakers, all are good. Really need an idea on correct wiring setup so that I can start testing everything else.

Thanks in advance

Matt
rabbitrogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 06:24 AM   #2

Hi Matt,

Welcome to the JOF. Everyone here is really nice and happy to help. We have only camped with an RV for 1 year but tent camped for a while before that. I have learned so much from the veteran RVers that is has saved my butt on more that one occasion. I camped in my parents RV my entire childhood but it is sure different when you are the one who has to make it all work!