Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2015, 12:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Riverside
Posts: 15
Dometic RM2190 Fridge Pilot Light

We're new to the pop-up game so bear with my probably dumb question, but: we have the Dometic RM2190 fridge. Yesterday I tried lighting the pilot for the first time since we purchased our used pup, using the instructions in the Dometic manual. No spark and no flame. Now I'm wondering (here's the dumb newbie part), do I need to have a battery in place for the piezo pilot to work? The propane lines are fine, our stove works perfect. There is no battery and we figured we could do without as we don't plan on camping off-grid and pretty much using shore power whenever we camp. If a battery is necessary, can't we just light the pilot using a fireplace match or grill lighter?
__________________

Nightfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 10:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 31
You shouldn't need power to light the pilot light. It works like a gas grill ignitor. You might make sure the gas is turned on to the fridge. There may be a gas shut off or something.
__________________

railrunner74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 10:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jeff61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: northern Il.
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfly View Post
We're new to the pop-up game so bear with my probably dumb question, but: we have the Dometic RM2190 fridge. Yesterday I tried lighting the pilot for the first time since we purchased our used pup, using the instructions in the Dometic manual. No spark and no flame. Now I'm wondering (here's the dumb newbie part), do I need to have a battery in place for the piezo pilot to work? The propane lines are fine, our stove works perfect. There is no battery and we figured we could do without as we don't plan on camping off-grid and pretty much using shore power whenever we camp. If a battery is necessary, can't we just light the pilot using a fireplace match or grill lighter?
Like any of these appliances, it helps to light the stove burners first to purge the air out of the gas lines. Then, it should light
Jeff61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 05:12 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Riverside
Posts: 15
@Jeff and RailRunner thx for the tips. However, I think we need to get an RV battery anyway from what I'm learning for spark power and thermostat....
Nightfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 11:52 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
I believe a battery is not necessary to run the fridge on propane.

I have found that using a match to light the burner is much easier than using the igniter. Also, I'm almost certain that there is not a pilot light on the fridge, just the regular burner. The fridge temp is controlled by a dial on the controllers. You may also need to clean the vent or burner. My burner was very corroded after a few trips to the beach.
__________________
1995 Toyota 4Runner SR5 4WD 5 spd
2002 Eagle Summit 12
Matt Chapter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 02:43 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Riverside
Posts: 15
Finding out that you are right, Matt Chapter. After installing a battery and trying to light the fridge with the piezo for over and hour, I gave up and just used a butane flame that one can use on an oven or gas grille. Worked fine and seems to do the trick.
Nightfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 03:33 PM   #7
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,064
On my rig, it will not work w/o a battery. It depends on the type fridge I assume. I had one on another rig with a piezo igniter and it did not need dc to work.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 12:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
According to the service manual http://www.casitaclub.com/forums/ind...ttach_id=22626 you do not need battery. stick a lighter in in there and hold down the purge knob and see if it lights. The other test is take jumper cables from your vehicle battery to the leads on the camper (vehicle off) and see if that makes a difference.

At any rate a battery is nice for having lights before you have power plugged in.
__________________

tcanthonyii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, fridge, piezo, pilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.