Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2020, 09:55 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Indoor lights

We just bought a 1998 Jayco Eagle 12udk, we don't have a battery but connected power to it and all outlets work but the overhead lights and outdoor lights do not. By the back driver's side pole I found two black wires hanging and this piece. Please help!?!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20200611_173705.jpg   IMG_20200611_173620~2.jpg  
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:03 AM   #2
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 15,609
Welcome to the Forum from Western New York State!

The piece is what's left of the switch, that activates the 12 volt lights. It's a safety device, so when the camper's closed up, any light that's accidently left on, doesn't cause a fire inside.
__________________
Moderator
If you're going to "regret it in the morning", sleep until noon.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:07 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFlightRisk View Post
Welcome to the Forum from Western New York State!

The piece is what's left of the switch, that activates the 12 volt lights. It's a safety device, so when the camper's closed up, any light that's accidently left on, doesn't cause a fire inside.
Is this what they call the kill switch that I have read in other post? And do I have to have it to get the lights to work? Thank you for replying so quickly ��
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:17 AM   #4
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 15,609
Yes it is. You'll need to locate where it was mounted, and get a new one. The lights won't work without it in the circuit, and it's not safe to not have it in place. If you want to see if the lights inside do indeed work, TEMPORARILY connect the ends of those two wires, and they should have power to them, then disconnect those wires.
__________________
Moderator
If you're going to "regret it in the morning", sleep until noon.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:24 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Thank you so much!!! Do I have to have a battery hooked up as well to make the lights work?
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:30 AM   #6
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 15,609
I'm going to say yes. I'm not sure what kind of power converter in in your camper. In the end, you'll want one anyway.
__________________
Moderator
If you're going to "regret it in the morning", sleep until noon.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:42 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Is this the part I need (first pic)? The other picture is what the RV dealership was thinking I was talking about when I called to see if they had kill switch???
Attached Thumbnails
Screenshot_20200612-105852.jpg   Screenshot_20200612-123933.jpg  
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 15,757
First picture is the correct switch.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:53 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Okay, thank you both for all your help. Now the fun of trying to find one!
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:55 AM   #10
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 15,609
You're very welcome!
__________________
Moderator
If you're going to "regret it in the morning", sleep until noon.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 01:41 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Hello again, I have received the new kill switch but I have no clue how to hook it up. Do you know of any videos that would help me? The switch looks like there is 3 spots to plug wires on to it and I only have 2 loose black wires? I will attach a picture of the part.
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 01:46 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Pic of new switch

Please help!!!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20200616_154032.jpg  
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 01:54 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 15,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATyler View Post
Please help!!!
There should be a diagram that tell you which way to wire it right on the swtich. It will show you which is open and which is closed when the lever is pushed down. Best guess is you want the two that are together.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:04 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Pic of new switch

Here is what it has on the side of it?? Sorry this is our first pop-up and I'm clueless.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20200616_160108.jpg  
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:05 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,688
You have two wiring options, normally open and normally closed. I suspect your hot wire will go to the single terminal. Then the question is which terminal to connect the other wire to. If you do not have a multimeter, just connect the wire to one of them, and see what happens when you press down on the switch. If the lights turn on when pressed, use the other terminal.

edit: You posted a picture as I was writing. You will want normally closed (NC) and COM
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:11 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
Ok so the peg that has NO will not have anything connected to it right?
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:13 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATyler View Post
Ok so the peg that has NO will not have anything connected to it right?
Correct. That stands for Normally Open. So when the switch is not depressed, there is no contact for power to pass through
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:13 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greentown
Posts: 12
I'm sorry but how do I know what the hot wire is??? Thank you for all your help and patience.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20200611_173620~2.jpg  
ATyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 02:28 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,688
From that picture I can not tell. On previous PUs the power feed came up the canvas in the corner or in the lift mechanism sleeve. So you can take a look to see where the wire leads head off to/from. I suspect the long wire is the hot wire. If you have a spare light bulb, make contact on one terminal to the long wire and the other to say the metal lift mechanism. Lights up, you know it is the hot wire.

In reality in this application the switch does not care which wire is hot.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.