Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-28-2017, 01:51 PM   #1

Unhappy Need help finding a short

Hello all,

Just purchased a 2002 Jayco Qwest M-10V pop up camper and finding that there may be some electrical issues with it. I don't plan on using full service sites, so want to run on battery.

The battery was DOA when I purchased it (knew that at the time of purchase) so I borrowed one to do some testing. Right away I noticed there was some sparks when connecting the cables to the battery. Not sure if that's common or not but after connecting, I turned on the 12V switch to the camper (120V is off at this point) and the lights/porch light turned on just fine. Then I turned off the 12V switch and oddly, the lights stayed on. I'm no expert but to me they should be off at this point.

So I checked the fuses to see if they were ok, and the three 15amp ones were ok, and same with the 20amp one, though the 20amp one gave me some sparks when trying to reconnect it. According to the label that's the charging line. With that fuse out the battery does not spark when connecting/disconnecting the cables.

I'm going to do more testing tonight with my multi meter to confirm but would appreciate any suggestions for troubleshooting this. I feel as is there's going to be a constant draw on the battery regardless if the lights are on or not, and it doesn't seem to matter if I turn off the 12v to the camper from the switch.

Thank you.
Kravan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2017, 01:56 PM   #2

Are you sure you didn't reverse the battery connections?
Old 08-28-2017, 02:03 PM   #3

Pretty sure, the ground, which goes to a spot behind the coupler was on the - and the + was to the other.
Old 08-28-2017, 02:09 PM   #4

Does it have a 3 way fridge, gas, 12v, 120 that may be on 12v?
Old 08-28-2017, 02:14 PM   #5