Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-05-2011, 07:46 PM   #1

New to me 2001 Jayco 14 SO

Hi, I'm a newbie that just bought a pop up camper. Thought I could wing it but there is a lot I still haven't figured out before I go camping this Friday. I just figured out why the ceiling lights wouldn't work by browsing this forum...there was a loose wire on the switch that retracts when the roof is lifted...thank you for that. Had a RV detailer come in to clean up the place since it was sitting for a couple years but he stressed he could not remove mildew stains, etc. I was disappointed but bought some blue stuff with bleach...if you scrub hard enough the mildew/mold comes off. I hope i'm not permanatly damaging the tent. Going to continue cleaning tomorrow. At the rear of the camper where the slide out starts, up top there are staples that attach the tent to the roof. I have ants in there and every night they leave a substantial pile of what looks like cotton. I need to get this stopped. Any ideas?

I also found the fridge switch outside and saw a symbol for electric plug in (i'm connected to house right now) and turned from battery to that...it works great so far.

I hooked up the portable 3 burner stove to the outside of the camper and plugged the quick connect into it. No gas comes out. I have 2 tanks that are not full but they have gas because i hooked them up to my gas grill and it worked fine. Is there a master switch somewhere? Once i get that going i'm going to wait till I get camping where I'll meet my brothers camping friends to help me with heat and hot water.

I did setup the kitchen table...seems quite sturdy. I took it outside and it kinda fell apart. Seems there are some plastic bushings that connect to the legs and they disinegrated. Any idea how I can replace these?