Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-23-2015, 11:24 PM   #1

Question Newbies needing help to get on the road!

Hello all,

My LOML and I just purchased our first RV yesterday and we're super excited about our 1995 Jayco 1406 but we have some questions, a lot of questions actually. The previous owner did a very quick run through of the trailer since it started to snow right as he arrived so I did not get nearly enough info.
Going through the vehicle today I quickly became overwhelmed at just how much I don't know about our new little home. I would love to ask my questions here since I can't find a manual online but if there is a resource you know of which walks a total newbie through the 1995 Jayco 1406 and goes over every little step, that is what I need. But here are my questions just in case there are no resources like that, youtube does not have it at least...

The battery.
Today we bough a new deep cycle battery since the previous owner did not have one installed. He told me the white wire was positive and the black was negative. I hooked it up as instructed and the interior lights turned on and it started making a humming noise as well. I have been reading that white is usually negative and black (and red) are positive. Since the camper turned on, I take it my white wire is the positive otherwise it would have blown a fuse or worse, is that correct?

About the humming sound, what was that sound, do you know? It went away after I flipped a switch that was located down by the ground next to an electrical panel. What is that thing down by the ground across from the shower (a battery converter?)? And what was that switch that made the humming stop?