Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2019, 04:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2
Too many things plugged in - zap

2008 Jayco Jay Series 1007

Out for the first weekend of the season in Northern NY state along the St. Lawrence. Cool and damp for most of the weekend so we used the small space heater to take off the chill.

Plugged in the 30 amp cord from the trailer to the campground power.

Had the fridge running, ceiling fan and space heater. Reminded everyone not to plug in anything else (I forgot my my regular extension cord at home - damn)

Dear wife forgot on Monday morning and plugged in a coffee maker. Zap. Overloaded.

No outlets working. No lights.
--

Steps to try and solve it so far:
- flipped the breaker switches on the post at the campground. Campground guy came by with his tester. Power from the post was fine.

- opened the panel under the seat in the trailer - flipped the three black switches on the breaker on and off.

- checked the fuses. They all seem to be fine.

- found the GFI breaker under the seat. Pushed the middle reset buttons.

I realize that I didn't turn off the fridge or unplug everything while going through all of these steps. Going to try that tonight - otherwise I'm at a loss on next steps

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

Jacuzzi_Bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 04:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 10,591
"- opened the panel under the seat in the trailer - flipped the three black switches on the breaker on and off. "

After they trip, my circuit breakers need to be PUSHED to the off position against sprint tension to reset them, not just flipped. I'd suggest trying the breakers again.
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescue Eydie (min Schnauzer) & Charley (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS, GY Endurance (E), Days: 102 '15, 90 '16, 80 '17, 161 '18
2006 Ford F350 PSD, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, Cmpr. pkg, Equal-i-zer 4-p, ContiTrac TR
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,665
Ouch... I too use my portable space heater with an extension cord plugged into the camp ground 20AMP Service alot...

like you I forgot my extension cord on one trip and had to plug it into the 30A trailer service...

we were more fortunate however but did have a couple of trips thru the nights...

Now I have an extension cord that lives in my OFF-ROAD POPUP haha... I never take it out... It stays with the portable space heater haha... All knows it is only to be used for the portable heater...

So far this has worked out just fine...

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 07:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 1,204
I am not sure of the problem you seem to be having. I have had three different 30 amp RVs with never a problem. I run an electric heater, lights, microwave and sometimes the bath fan. I have also cooked toast while running my electric heater on high.

30 amps. should yield 3,600 watts of available power.

1,500 heater on high
1,200 toaster
1,000 microwave

I never tried all three at the same time but frequently have at least two.
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.7 V6
Andersen WDH hitch
Dometic Milenco Aero mirrors
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 07:59 PM   #5
Member
 
jimovernon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Vernon
Posts: 92
The panel should be both 120 volts supplying your outlets as well as a converter to 12 volt to charge the battery and supply the 12 volt lighting and vent fans, water pump, etc.

The 12 volt usually have automotive blade fuses and the 120 volt uses circuit breakers. It is possible a breaker has failed and won't reset. They can usually be replaced.

I found a good troubleshooting video on-line here: https://www.rvrepairclub.com/video/r...ooting-007934/
jimovernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 07:58 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2
Thank you!! Going to try and reset tonight.
Jacuzzi_Bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 08:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,510
We've ran the A/C, fridge, and microwave on 30 amps. No issues. You are sure you have a 30 amp plug? Do you have A/C also?
__________________
Chuck
2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 05:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocBrown View Post
We've ran the A/C, fridge, and microwave on 30 amps. No issues. You are sure you have a 30 amp plug? Do you have A/C also?
At the same time? Was your ac compressor actually running with the microwave?

Depending on the power usage, an AC, fridge and microwave can definately blow a 30amp breaker, assuming your ac and fridge compressor were actually running.
erich82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 06:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,440
Hey we were camping across the river from you at Mille Roches.

Your problem is conversion. You have the Canadian Package that requires 30 Canadian Amps and you were camping in the US where the supply is US 30 Amps. That's your problem right there!

Okay, JK. I know it's not April 1, but I couldn't resist.
__________________
2011 Jayco X19H (purchased 2015)
2008 Jayco 1007 PUP (purchased new, traded for the X19)
2018 Nissan Titan Midnight Ed.
bankr63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 06:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
NC Roamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fuquay-Varina
Posts: 795
Our Greyhawk is 30 amp. It once popped the breaker on the park’s power pedestal while using the microwave, A/C and coffee pot. Have not had one pop since then though, so I think that might have been an older breaker.
__________________

__________________

2014 Greyhawk 31FK
2007 Honda Shadow Sabre 1100cc
NC Roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.