Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2014, 03:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: indiana
Posts: 45
upgrade from 30 amps

Hello everybody is it possible to change or upgrade to 50 amp in my pop up? Went camping this weekend the the site was for 30 amp service. when we had air, coffee maker and griddle plug in was tripping breaker. Or is there something im doing wrong. thanks
__________________

djvmax07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 03:16 PM   #2
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 1,128
turn the A/C off while you are running the griddle and the coffee maker. Thats what I would do. Seems silly to upgrade converters and your shore cord which would be costly for a minor issue
__________________

nbhybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 03:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,037
Run an extra 14 gauge extension cord out under the canvas to the 20 amp plug and use it for the griddle.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 03:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dmward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 353
A lot of campgrounds will have 30 & 15 amp outlets at the same site. Why not bring an extension cord and plug some stuff into the 15amp?
__________________
-Derek

2014 White Hawk 28DSBH
2012 F150 EcoBoost MaxTow
Reese 1200 WDH / Dual Cam Sway Control
dmward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 03:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: indiana
Posts: 45
Thanks for the help..
djvmax07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 04:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,937
Use to do the extension cord that I ran in under the end canvas on our pop-up to run a 2nd space heater when camping in late Fall. 2 electric heaters will keep both ends of a popup warm as toast in temps down to the 20's. Also ran the cord over to a picnic table to run a large electric skillet to do most of our cooking. Plenty of juice at the power post w/ 30A going inside and at least one other [sometimes 2] 20A plugs. When the CG is pretty much empty, have even ran another cord from a neighbor site for additional 20A of power.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 05:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
You *can* upgrade to 50A service. You'll need a new breaker panel, and wiring to the outside and if you're not 100% certain what you're getting into, you'll need an electrician. I would go the route of the added extension cord, far more economical.
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 08:13 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 27
Which breaker was tripping? The 15A breaker in the trailer or the 30A breaker at the campground's electric post?
__________________

teejaywhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.