Jayco RV Owners Forum

Jayco RV Owners Forum (https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/)
-   General Jayco RV Chat (https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f18/)
-   -   My Battery disconnect switch disconnected (https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f18/my-battery-disconnect-switch-disconnected-14992.html)

Crabman 08-16-2013 03:51 PM

My Battery disconnect switch disconnected
 
Arrived at the CG Wednesday and go to use the tongue jack and nothing. OK I`m thinking the fuse is blown. Go in the trailer and try the lights, still nothing. Plug into shore power and everything works. Next I assume the battery must be dead. Nope, test reveals its OK. If I jump the disconnect switch the tongue jack, etc works (even while not hooked up to shore power) So I conclude the 3+ year old disconnect switch is not engaging. Not a immediate problem unless CG loses power, but its on my mind. Guess its time for a new switch.


https://www.jaycoowners.com/attachmen...fcff32c526.jpg

Threebutchers 08-16-2013 04:03 PM

Nice troubleshooting....is it serviceable?....acid / vapor corrosion?

(BTW....I see pine needles on the ground....you didn't get too far away this trip!!!!)

Crabman 08-16-2013 04:39 PM

I may be able to spray it with lube and see if it works. That pic is from file, not the CG which is a beach site!

Florida Camper 08-16-2013 07:24 PM

My Battery disconnect switch disconnected
 
Order a can of DeoxIT in line. It is made specifically to clean, protect, and lubricate electrical contacts. There are a number of different kinds but I believe the D series will work best for you. Might need to hit the contacts with Emory cloth before applying DeoxIt if they are badly corroded. Even if you buy a new switch hit it with the DeoxIT to prolong life

Crabman 08-18-2013 11:13 AM

Could not make it work so I simply bypassed the switch and hooked the battery up straight like it used to be for now.

Quick Step 08-18-2013 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabman (Post 148498)
Could not make it work so I simply bypassed the switch and hooked the battery up straight like it used to be for now.

I had the same trouble with my dis-connect and come to find out, the nut on the bolt the wires connect to backed off just enough to cause a power interruption. Tightened the nut and everything was fine

MonkeyClaw 08-18-2013 04:10 PM

Doesn't the battery have to have power for the emergency brakes? Or was this not bypassed with the quick-disconnect?

Crabman 08-18-2013 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MonkeyClaw (Post 148535)
Doesn't the battery have to have power for the emergency brakes? Or was this not bypassed with the quick-disconnect?

Yes it does, so apparently I unwittingly had no emergency brakes for 70 miles......:mad:

Crabman 08-18-2013 05:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quick Step (Post 148509)
I had the same trouble with my dis-connect and come to find out, the nut on the bolt the wires connect to backed off just enough to cause a power interruption. Tightened the nut and everything was fine

My nuts were tight, so that was not it. :lol2:

Quick Step 08-18-2013 07:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabman (Post 148545)
My nuts were tight, so that was not it. :lol2:

Oooooooookay Ummmmmmmmmmmmm at least everything is tight and nothing hanging loose.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.