Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-11-2016, 08:18 PM   #1
Good Idea/Bad Idea?

I'm still pretty new to the TT game. We're planning a fairly long (for us) trip with our new 23RLSW - it's 2 days to our destination, so we're planning a one-night intermediate stop. Here's my question: Should I take the time to do full hookups at the intermediate stop? Or should I just start out with a full fresh water tank and do minimal hookups (electricity only), and then hit the dump station on the way out the next morning?

Doing minimal hookups, so that setup isn't much more than leveling, is a tempting idea. It will be in early June, so there will be plenty of daylight left when we get to the intermediate CG.

Thoughts? Pros and cons?

TV 2010 Ford F-150 Supercab
TT 2016 Jay Feather 23RLSW
rkresge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 08:36 PM   #2
I would haul my water, get Elec only site (or nothing if just one night) and if my final destination has full hookups I would skip the dump station on my way out in the morning. The drive will recharge any little battery use I have the night before and I can dump when ready at my final full hook up site.

2007 Chevy Duramax LMM/Allison
2012 Jay Flight 29QBH
2012 Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
clubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 08:49 PM   #3
There is not a great answer way to many variables, if an electric only site is available that is a good way to keep your costs down. Depending on your final destination and what services you have there I might only start out with half a tank of fresh water and not even bother with dumping the tanks. That said many times I have paid for full hook ups because they were much nicer sites. It really does not take much time to do a full hook up or tear down.
Old skipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 09:06 PM   #4