Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-23-2012, 07:58 AM   #1
Thanksgiving Camping.

We will be camping Thanksgiving weekend. Does anyone else camp then? And do you prepare the food at the house first, then rewarm it out there? I am new to this.

2011 Jayco Flight G2 23FB
2008 Dodge Ram 2500 HD
1500Weight Distribution System, Accupower Pilot Brake Control, Sway Control, Husky Elec Jack
Moving Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 09:59 AM   #2
We always have a major family gathering at Thanksgiving, so have never camped that weekend. Where you prepare it kinda depends on how much food you need, and how many folks will be there, I should think.

2003 Ford F-350 V-10 Crew Cab 4WD Long Bed
2004 Jayco Designer Medallion 29 RLTS 5th wheel
Bill, Gayle, and Mindi (dachshund)
Retired at last !

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
tinlizzie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:25 PM   #3
It all depends on whether you want to have the traditional meal (turkey and all the trimmings) or do something none traditional (steaks, shishkabobs, etc)
I have cooked a turkey on our full size BBQ at home and it was to die for, just cover it like you would in the oven and keep adding water (uses a lot of water) you can then handle all the other parts, potatoes,etc in the trailer and on a Coleman stove.
2012 Toyota 4-Runner SR5
2012 Jayco Jay Feather Ultra Lite 228

Jayco 228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:03 PM   #4
Kathie we love to camp over Thanksgiving but the won't be this yr and last yr we didn't get our TT back until the day before so it was out to camp then also. Will you have hookups?