Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-22-2017, 11:23 AM   #1

Question Cold Weather Camping Questions

I own a 2013 Jayco 31.5 FBHS. The belly is insulated. Jayco calls this unit a 4 season camper; however, nothing is heated in the belly. In my opinion, it is not a true 4 season camper.

My experience: I've had two other bumper pull trailers prior to this own. I have about 6 years experience with trailers. I'm attempting cold weather camping for the first time. I am slightly nervous and am looking for tips.

The trip: I've planned a two night stay in the Northern Rockies. The round trip is about 370 miles. The campground contains full facilities, nothing primitive. The temperatures will teeter around freezing. I expect lows of 25 degrees F and highs of 35 degrees F. Perhaps extreme low of 20 degrees. I have the option of full hook-ups, sewer, water and electricity.

My RV technician recommended that I utilize my tanks by keeping them closed the entire time and emptying at the end of the trip. He also recommended that I utilize the fresh water tank instead of the city line. The city line will likely freeze before the tank would. Obviously, when I return home, I will re-winterize immediately.

I greatly appreciate any tips, tricks or recommendations. Thanks in advance for your input.
RVMike7594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 11:45 AM   #2

"My RV technician recommended that I utilize my tanks by keeping them closed the entire time and emptying at the end of the trip. He also recommended that I utilize the fresh water tank instead of the city line. The city line will likely freeze before the tank would. Obviously, when I return home, I will re-winterize immediately."