Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2014, 10:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
no power in outlets

Hello, we recently purchased a 1995 designer series 3030 and when the on board generator is running and power cord plugged into the electrical box everything works fine but when I shut the generator off I have no power in the outlets and microwave doesn't work. Does the generator need to be rubbing for the outlets/ microwave to work? Thanks in advance for any help

jfeiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:12 AM   #2
Senior Member
John LLRV's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: East Grand Forks, MN
Posts: 317
When the generator is off, are you plugged into shore power?

John LLRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
Brownie's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greater Grand Rapids
Posts: 1,055
The electrical outlets (including the one for the microwave) only run on 120V A.C. You'll have to be plugged into shore power (or generator) for them to work.
2013 Eagle 266RKS
2011 Ford F-150 w/3.5L Ecoboost & H.D. Tow Package
Brownie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 01:12 PM   #4
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by John LLRV View Post
When the generator is off, are you plugged into shore power?
No, we are still plugged into the onboard generator. Thanks for the quick replies
jfeiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 04:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
Threebutchers's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
GENERALLY...The generator is supplying 120V to your Travel Trailer. When the generator is not running, you need to move the plug from the generator 120V output to a 120V from your home or trusted source to continue providing 120V inside the TT.

Beyond that it would be good to see some pictures and get more information about your generator, power (shore) cord and Travel Trailer.

Welcome to JOF
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 05:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,415
Agree with everyone else, for your 110v outlets to work you either need to be running your generator or plugged into a 110v power source such as your house, campground power, etc.
2013 Jayco JayFlight 26RKS
2013 Ford F150 Ecoboost FX4

2003 Coleman Bayside / 2011 Jayco Jayfeather X20E -- RIP
2012 Tacoma Sport DCSB / 2013 Tundra SR5 - RIP
Heady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:56 PM   #7
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks again for the replies. Sorry I don't have pictures but My wife and I recently purchased a 1995 jayco designer series model 3030 with an onboard 4000 watt onan generator and we are planning to live in it forabout a year and as of yet we don't have power on our property yet. So the only source of ppower for the first month or two will be our generator.

Rather then running the generator most times when we want to watch TV or charge cell phones etc. would an inverter be a good way to go for short periods of time? If yes what kind and what to look for in one?

Again thank you very much for all your help/ answers as I've never owned a camper before and don't know anything about them as far as setup. I love to camp but prefer tent as I don't like to stay in the same place while I'm out exploring. Enough of my rambling and again thanks for all your help! Jim
jfeiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 05:30 AM   #8
Site Team
norty1's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,421
no power in outlets

You may have to spend more $$$ than you want to get battery and inverter capacity to power the high draw appliances.
Especially if only temporary.
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 09:41 PM   #9
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bonney Lake
Posts: 90
Its not rocket science... but you need to figure out what your load will be, determine what size of inverter you will need and then a bank of batteries for the period of time you want to run with the generator off.... once it is depleted you will then need to recharge.

Did a quick look online and it seems a lot of LED TV are fairly low in terms of watts, < 200. I would say you could pickup a 1000 watt inverter for less then 300-500... but Im not sure how long that would last on a battery... or how many banks you would need to run well. I would say a small setup would be in the 500-1000 range it would do the TV decently but microwave would be better off being run off of the generator.

imjustdave is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.