Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-25-2023, 05:31 PM   #1

171BH Inverter question

Hi-

I'm a total newbie and have been lurking in the forums for a while but finally took the plunge and bought a (used) 2022 Jayco Jay Feather Micro 171BH. The trailer already has a 12V fridge and the Overlander 1 solar package. I'm having a 3000W Inverter installed and 2x 100Ah lithium batteries.

The dealership told me that they can't connect the microwave to the inverter because an inverter "can't support the amps." I feel like I've read posts from people who run their microwave (for a couple minutes to reheat things, not roast a chicken) off their inverter and batteries and solar while boondocking and even some people who say they can run their AC for a little bit off the inverter. Can someone explain to me what I'm missing?

Thanks,
Jk
JKcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2023, 05:33 PM   #2

With a 3000 Watt you'll be fine. We had an 1800 in our 08 SENECA and it ran the Micro and TV's with no problem.

Watts divided by volts equals amps, so a 3,000=25 amps.
Old 08-26-2023, 04:47 PM   #3

When I first put my 2000W inverter in I ran the microwave 2 hours continuously as a test. No issues. 300AH lithium. Startup power for my microwave appears to be about 1500W, but it will then run on less.

Your trailer came with "Inverter Prep" wiring. Tying into that will power normally just 2 outlets (I don't know which ones on the 171, but typically one by the bed and one by the television). Something much more substantial will have to be done to run the microwave, which is on a separate 20A breaker.