Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2015, 04:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SEGA
Posts: 45
No 50 amp service available?

We are going to take the TT on its maiden voyage in a few weeks, and the campground only has 30A hookups. How will this affect us? Sorry for my ignorance!
__________________

__________________
2015 Jayco Flight 32BHDS

2014 Ram 2500 Megacab, CTD, lifted on 37's
AV8B6015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 04:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 175
Just get a 50a to 30a dogbone adaptor and you'll be fine. I assume that you have 2 air conditioners to have 50a TT. If so you can't run them at the same time you will only have 30a to use.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jayco Eagle 314 BHDS (totaled)
2018 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5BHOK (on order)
2016 Ford F-350 Super Duty SB CC PSD 4x4
bluie5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
You should be able to find a 30A-50A long Adapter from WALMART but can also be ordered from AMAZON.

This is a diagram what you need to pickup. The 30A side has MALE connectors and the 50A side has FEMALE connectors.



You can see in the diagram that the two hots are tied together so the 30A SERVICE will feed both of your 50A legs in your trailer.

Here is another diagram showing this example.


As stated above you will have to watch which high wattage appliances are being used at the same time as you only have a total of 30AMPS to use from the pedestal. If you try to use both air conditioners at same time it will trip the 30A PEDESTAL BREAKER.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
One high load item I forgot the first time I was on a 30amp system was my water heater. I switched it to propane after the first time the breaker tripped and had no problems after that. Of course this was in the fall and no a/c was being used at all, but when the microwave was being used and the water heater would turn on the breaker would trip.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 01:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Taft
Posts: 137
If there is a 30amp and a 20amp(regular house style plug)at the pedestals you may be able to use this to get 50 amps.

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea
__________________
2015 Jay Flight 26BH Elite
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500,LT,4x4,6.0L
Honda EU2000I and Honda EU2000I Companion Generators.
WrenZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 07:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,498
50 amp service is two 50 amp 120 legs, or 100 amps at 120 volts...30 amp is one 120 volt leg.. You will have 30% of the power you typically have with 50 amp service. So limit hair dryers, coffee pot etc.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 09:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
krackeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 843
If the site happens to have an extra 20 or 30 amp connection on the pedestal you can use that as well. Just get an adapter from 30 amp to 110v. That way you can hook up some things to that connection. Things such as coffee maker, toaster, electric fry pan etc. I have only 30 amp in my tt, so I do this often.
__________________
2012 Jayco 32 TSBH
Stored in Myrtle Beach/Surfside SC
2006 Tundra DC with tow package
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 01:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tail_gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: da U.P.
Posts: 340
I bought an adapter pigtail that attaches to the camper's 50 amp power recepticle and then run 30 amp cord to the outlet box. IMO, why wrestle with that heavy, cumbersome 50 amp cord if all you have available is a 30 amp outlet?

__________________
Kent
FAA licensed A&P aircraft mechanic, ex-RV dealer parts dept
Retired B-52 Gunner/Flight Examiner, B-52 Crew Chief

2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 FBDS w/ 15,000 BTU AC, 50 amp service, upgraded counter top, thermal pane windows, elec. stab jacks, outside grill, backup camera and MORryde pin box.
2011 GMC 2500HD DURAMAX/ ALLISON
Tail_gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 01:57 PM   #9
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by WrenZ71 View Post
If there is a 30amp and a 20amp(regular house style plug)at the pedestals you may be able to use this to get 50 amps.

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea
I have one of these and its use is limited. I have used it in Ga state parks a lot because they are wired that way. Many have 2 30a plugs at the same site that are on separate feeds. If you put out the money for it, just realize that it can not be used everywhere.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 02:49 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Dlivrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by WrenZ71 View Post
If there is a 30amp and a 20amp(regular house style plug)at the pedestals you may be able to use this to get 50 amps.

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea
This is similar and less expensive. Combines the 30 and 15 amp legs, so can get 45 amps
http://www.amazon.com/Camco-55025-Po...13NQX9D3589BQ8
__________________

__________________
Brian and Joni
2015 Greyhawk 31FS
Dlivrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.