Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2017, 10:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 6
2018 Jayco Redhawk - GFCI will not reset - no Air Conditioner

Hi guys - driving down the road with the generator and AC on - all of a sudden the AC stopped working. Checked the breaker/fuse panel at the foot of the bed and confirmed (switched off/back on) that all were good EXCEPT the GFCI. We've tried everything and it will not reset. As a result, no outlets or the AC thermostat will work. Here's what we've tried:
1. Reset breaker at generator
2. Disconnect coach battery/reconnect
3. Look for another GFI outlet to reset (we CANNOT find one...if anyone knows where they are located that would be great).
4. Checked all fuses in the panel - all seem ok.
5. Tried to figure out how to reset the Onan 4000 Automatic Transfer Switch - but not sure how to do this (perhaps it's automatic).

Anyway - AC will not work and it's a bit hot in AZ so any help or advice would be great!
thanks
Spencer in Hot AZ
__________________

r37116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 05:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 316
GFCI's do just go bad, go to HD/Lowes and get a replacement, install and see if things go back to normal. Could also be a loose connection, or a very touchy/sensitive GF.
__________________

__________________
'08 Greyhawk 31SS
jimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 05:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 4,824
Just reread post. Are you saying the outlet won't reset or the breaker?

A GFCI will not reset without power besides A/C is not on a GFCI circuit. Transfer switch does not have a reset, either it works or it doesn't.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 06:32 AM   #4
Member
 
MFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Trenton
Posts: 75
If the GFCI won't reset in the bathroom, you may need to check the other AC outlets inside and outside you rig. They are all GFCI protected and designed to trip the bathroom receptical. Did you say you had no indication on your wall mounted thermostat? The thermostat is powered by 12 volt DC and if it's not working you won't be able to turn your AC or heater on.
__________________
MFalcon
Trenton, Ontario Canada
2015 Greyhawk 31DS
2013 Jeep Wrangler
Blue Ox Tow Package
Blog: https://mfalcontraveler.blogspot.ca/
MFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 10:01 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 6
Thx guys for the replies.

We have not been able to find any GFI outlets. I'm thinking this 2018 RV might not have them and instead the breaker be an all in one? See attached pic of my breaker box.

To answer the other questions. The generator runs great but the thermostat will not work. In addition, none of the lights work.

On a separate note, we connected to RV park power last night and everything worked great and we were able to reset the GFCI breaker. But, the second we disconnected, fired up the generator, and tried to turn on coach power, the GFCI breaker tripped again. Not sure what's going on!


http://www.airforums.com/forums/atta...4&d=1494125074
r37116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 12:45 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 6
ok - spoke to a Jayco technician and he believes it is a faulty/bad Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS). He's suggesting we get this in for service. But, this is during vacation and service centers are backed up. Is the ATS something you can fix yourself? This is coming off an ONAN 4000 generator.
r37116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 01:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 4,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by r37116 View Post
ok - spoke to a Jayco technician and he believes it is a faulty/bad Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS). He's suggesting we get this in for service. But, this is during vacation and service centers are backed up. Is the ATS something you can fix yourself? This is coming off an ONAN 4000 generator.
If you have any knowledge of elec, yes. You're dealing with 3 pairs of #10 wire, Shore power in, geny power in and coach power out. Just be sure to take a pic or mark wires so you don't mix them up. Could also just be a loose wire in the ATS, check all the connection before ordering a new one.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 01:58 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 6
Thx. Will have to check it out. I've wired houses before so hopefully it's a loose wire etc.
r37116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 02:27 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 6
So we had to get a tech come out and take a look. It turns out there is not enough power going to the ATS from the generator. The generator seems to run fine and quite strong. But, I'm not sure why it is not putting out enough power. Has anyone seen this before? It is onan 4000 generator
r37116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 11:32 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 6
Just to close this out full circle. Everyone was booked so I found a guy on craigslist that has been in the business for ~30 years. He checked voltage from the generator (after the breaker switch) and saw that it was zero. At first, he thought he would need to drop the generator and check the stator, voltage regulator, snap rings etc. But, before doing so he decided to check that the circuit breaker itself was not bad. There are a few bolts and some wiring near that breaker. He took those few bolts off and within minutes found a wire that had come loose. He reconnected the wire, put it back together, and VOILA! We were back up and running... He spent ~2 hours and only charged me $125 bucks...not bad for a mobile tech during the busy season.

Anyways - if you aren't getting voltage from your generator, check that the wiring behind the circuit breaker and breaker itself are all good!!
__________________

r37116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.