Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-20-2022, 08:03 AM   #1

Air Compressor Questions

I've seen a couple of threads but nothing like what I'm wondering. I'm pretty new to TT life. Spent last year going out once a month to the local lake. This year am doing the same but adding a couple longer trips. Still just a few days, nothing major. I've been thinking that I need to take an air compressor with me but, when I buy things, I want them to do multiple things if possible. Here is what I'm thinking.

I will be carrying a generator with me on longer trips so I'm not worried about needing electrical. I'm thinking a small hot dog compressor, maybe 1 gallon size. My thought is that it might not even need to be plugged in to fill a tire if it is already full of air. Plus I could use it in the shop for nailing, cleaning things with air or other small stuff.

Does anyone have experience with them? If they are already full of air, would they inflate a tire without needing to be plugged in? Any recommendations on brands or sizes? Anything else I'm missing here?

I appreciate the info.
CBears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 08:09 AM   #2

We have a small air tool compressor from Lowes. Do not use it much, unless I for get to bring it!lol
bdreinv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 08:13 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdreinv View Post
We have a small air tool compressor from Lowes. Do not use it much, unless I for get to bring it!lol
Yeah, I have a couple of other compressors, one for the garage and one for the wood shop. They are both too large to bring along. I was thinking one of the little hot dog ones would be good to take along and might do double duty for some other more remote chores.
Old 04-20-2022, 08:20 AM   #4