Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-09-2012, 11:18 AM   #1

EZ Lube axle

Is it necessary to turn the wheel when injecting grease into the EZ Lube axle? I am new to this and would greatly appreciate any comments someone more experienced has. Thanks.
SteveD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:26 AM   #2
Site Team

According to Dexter`s instructions turning the wheel while injecting grease is the proper method. That`s the way I have done it. But don`t over do it with the grease. When new grease starts to push old out the front that`s enough, also according to their instructions. You do not want to blow out the rear seal and get grease on the brakes.
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 12:05 PM   #3

I pulled mine for a good 15000 miles over 18 months and never pumped any grease into the EZ Lubes on my TT. Then I serviced them (myself), and upon inspection all 8 bearings and races were in great condition, with no wear or indication of overheating.

My logic for not greasing them? How often do people have their auto bearings on the non-drive end repacked with grease? Most never do and they last for a long time. And they don't even have zerks to add grease. If it were a boat trailer going into water regularly, yeah, I'd add grease, but I don't think it's necessary with TT's.

I'll just continue not pumping in grease (and possibly contaminates from the grease zerk), and servicing the bearings every year or two. I'm not recommending anyone else should do it my way, but I feel comfortable with it.
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokerBill View Post