Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2015, 06:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma panhandle
Posts: 328
Post script to my last reply: I go camping to get away from TV. The dish is mainly for grandkids when they go with me. If I can't get TV, NO PROBLEM. Besides, there is nothing on TV now days worth watching, unless it happens in Mayberry.


Shorty Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 06:56 AM   #12
Senior Member
Wrascal's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,340
I'm in full agreement with that last poster.

2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 09:29 AM   #13
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 525
Originally Posted by Shorty Cox View Post
there is nothing on TV now days worth watching,
Turner Classic Movies
rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 10:33 AM   #14
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vernon
Posts: 32
Thanks for the replys guys, I appreciate it, my plan was to install a Traveler & take along a portable, we bought a Pinnacle 2015, 31RETS, the curve of roof dictates installation in the center of the roof line, probably put it towards the back for ease of wire fishing, it would of been nice for Jayco to pre-wire for $20.00 worth of cable it would be a nice feature. We F/T and move around a far amount it is a pain to find a signal for 1-3 day stop over, in saying that over the air channels are most of the time all we need. I guess it boils down to wanting to spend 2k on a dish.
bankedtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 05:59 AM   #15
Senior Member
edatlanta's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,258
I just relocated yesterday from my home base to Panama City Beach, FL for a hosting position for the summer. When I unhooked my satellite dish Thursday evening all was working fine. Yesterday afternoon when setting it back up I couldn't find the sat. It didn't take me but a couple of minutes searching to realize something was wrong. After a bit of checking the section of coax that I have been using for a while and the one that was working fine Thursday evening was dead. Both end connectors were fine, but there was a break somewhere in the length of coax. So I replaced it with a spare and had a signal in about 30 seconds.

One length of coax in the dumpster and all is well.

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 10:37 AM   #16
Senior Member
Seann45's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 8,764
I just had a system installed on the roof of my TT the wiring was no trouble at all. and since I use solar I avoid parking under trees..
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
140 days boondocking in 2016
211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 10:50 PM   #17
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Victoria
Posts: 65
I am going to give some advice on coax cable that should help all RVer's. After being in the satellite TV business for over 30yrs, I have learned the best practices when it comes to cable. Unfortunantly, the people that sell the cable don't know what they are selling most of the time. Knowing how RVer's use their coax, I strongly recommend buying coax that has a solid copper center conductor. Most big box retailers only sell coax that is what we call copper clad (the center conductor is steel with a copper coating). A RVer will have less trouble with solid copper than copper clad because the solid copper is more flexible and won't breakdown as easily from continually rolling up. Any DirecTV retailer will have solid copper coax because they require it, Dish Network doesn't require solid copper.

gaserv is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.