Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2015, 09:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vernon
Posts: 36
Satellite Dish

Has anyone installed a roof mounted satellite dish, and do you like it? Thinking of installing the Wingard DirecTv model. Did Jayco pre-wire by any chance
__________________

bankedtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 11:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Victoria
Posts: 69
I've been in the DirecTV business since it's conception in 1994 so hopefully you will understand the situation better. First, most of us RV'ers prefer to park under trees for shade which totally kills the roof mounted dish. If that is not a problem for you, and you decide to do the roof mount, make sure you get the SWM model so you are not limited to the model receivers you can use. You didn't state the model of your rig, so to answer your question about pre-wire is not possible. All the TT's, 5th wheels I've seen have not been pre-wired for a roof mount. We've actually taken the Winegard and made it portable so the RV'er has flexibility to park under trees. The SWM model only requires a single coax from the dish so you can usually figure a path of travel for the single coax. My Pinnacle has all the coax in the console cabinet at the TV lift and antenna power supply, so this is where the dish SWM wire needs to get to. I personally mounted my SWM Slimline dish on a 4x4x16 concrete block using a DirecTv stubbie mount mounted to the block using lead tap ins and manually set my dish. I run a HR24 with 2 H25's in the bedroom and underbelly. The Winegard is an awesome system, I have installed several, but always replacing a crank up or older automatic system. Good luck!!
__________________

gaserv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 05:12 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
I have been using a slimline/swm dish and tripod for the past 5 years full time. I took the dish from my s&b when I moved out of it and mated it to a tripod from tv4rv.com. Works great and I don't care where the trees are.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 07:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by bankedtime View Post
Has anyone installed a roof mounted satellite dish, and do you like it? Thinking of installing the Wingard DirecTv model. Did Jayco pre-wire by any chance
Only units that have roof prewiring are MHs.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 08:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaserv View Post
... First, most of us RV'ers prefer to park under trees for shade which totally kills the roof mounted dish. ...
I'd like to expand a bit on the very valid point made here by gaserv.

Over the last five years, we've been using DirecTV for our RV. I have set up our portable dish at least a hundred times in that five years. In a few locations - for example west Texas, parts of New Mexico, Oklahoma, Colorado -- line of sight issues caused by trees and other vegetation are not issues. For us, most of the time tree cover causes at least some difficulty finding a line of sight to the satellites. Many times, if my dish had been installed on the roof, we would not have had a signal.

I'm sure folks who have a roof installed dish can also speak to many successes in getting a signal... but be sure that lack of blue sky in the trees at the right inclination and azimuth is a real issue.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 11:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bridgeport, WV
Posts: 36
bankedtime.....to your question......Yes, I have installed the DirecTV dish on the roof of my 5ver. I did an extensive amount of research on the product because I didn't want to make any mistakes AND I didn't want to spend the pricey costs to get it installed. Anyway....it was quite easy but a bit time consuming. The installation on the roof was uneventful but I tried to make sure that I covered any entry point for water with Dicor sealant. I ran the cable/s to the rear of the 5ver and made that my entry point. Again....tons of sealant. That was all it took. The satellite receiver did the rest and I have not been disappointed. Yes, you have to be careful of "line of sight" but it beats the dickens out of manual sight-ins. Good luck with your decision.
__________________
Ann and Phil
2013 Eagle Premier 361REQS
2012 Ford F250 6.7 Diesel
Rear View Safety Camera
Winegard Trav'ler DirectTV HD Model:SK-SWM3
Steadyfast Stabilizing System
Progressive Industries 50 AMP EMS
boyzx3iii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 07:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma panhandle
Posts: 435
BANKEDTIME, When I ordered my RV, I wanted a dish on the roof. The dealer installed a Winegard Trav'ler Dish network dish 1000 on the roof. It is wired separate from the cable wiring. I wanted it wired for three receivers. One it the living room, bed room and bunkhouse.

Thus far, I have not had any problems. Yes, one has to be selective of camp sites to insure a "clear view of the southern sky". However, I've only been to one campground where that was a issue and they offered cable TV.

I chose a self-aligning dish because of witnessing a fellow camper spend the entire weekend trying to find a satellite with one of those you sit on the ground.

With mine, I just take the receivers from my house and when I get to the campsite, push a button and I'm good.

Shorty
Shorty Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 07:28 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 66
I have the portable, trees are not your friend.
__________________


2015 Silverado 2500HD LTZ Diesel
2015 Eagle HT 28.5 RSTS
F14man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 08:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,675
While we were traveling out west, the big $$$$$ MH's all had roof mount satellite antenna's but were using tri-pod mounted antennas. I have a Dish Tail-gater and I mount it on the top of the ladder with bungee cords and a cable and lock. Works great unless the trees are in the way, then I move it to a position on the ground.

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 05:26 PM   #10
Member
 
Timon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tustin
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
While we were traveling out west, the big $$$$$ MH's all had roof mount satellite antenna's but were using tri-pod mounted antennas. I have a Dish Tail-gater and I mount it on the top of the ladder with bungee cords and a cable and lock. Works great unless the trees are in the way, then I move it to a position on the ground.

Don
If you have a Travler on the roof so you can normally setup quickly you're still going to have a tripod to cover you when you cannot get a clear view due to the trees. It's the name of the game.
__________________

Timon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.