Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2015, 04:55 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
You need to get the TT's battery controller out of the circuit. The battery controller sees the voltage dropping and figures it needs to send more voltage /amps to the batteries, which puts more drain on the batteries because they are trying to charge themselves with their own power.

The only solution is to disconnect the controller's AC power source, turn its AC breaker off, and see which AC items are affected.
Or run everything off the inverter with an extension cord.

Don
Don...The converter breaker was tuned off....As far as the extension cord, it would be a pia because the things I want to run are spread out all over the trailer........Oh and just to clarify, I dont think the battery power is any problem. After using them quite a bit, they were only at 12.6
__________________

rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:31 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick danger View Post
Don...The converter breaker was tuned off....As far as the extension cord, it would be a pia because the things I want to run are spread out all over the trailer........Oh and just to clarify, I dont think the battery power is any problem. After using them quite a bit, they were only at 12.6
I run everything off of a 6 ft. extension cord. Fortunately it works well for us. I tried a couple of ways to get power into my outlets. ( non of them the correct way) Determined that what we had with the extension cord worked just fine.
__________________

Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 08:50 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,170
Turning the converter breaker off should disable any attempt to charge the battery from the inverter. Sure hope your intermittent draw is from a DC source as it gets a bit more challenging to determine which leg of the AC outlet circuit is the problem.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 09:58 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
What gauge wire did you use for the 110AC leg? 12 or 10AWG is what should be used. Do you plug in the inverter's output into the TT's shore power connector on the side of the TT?

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:19 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 796
The fact that when you plug in directly to the inverter and it works fine should tell you something. Your batteries and inverter wiring are all fine and the inverter is capable of handling that load.

Your 650 watt coffee maker for example draws your battery down to 11.9 volts while under load.
650 / 11.9 = 54.6 amps.......
If you ran your coffee maker for 1 hour it would consume 54.6 amp-hours from your battery. The seven minutes or so that you actually run it for uses 6.4 amp-hours. This is hardly stressing your batteries as you have seen. Voltage drop under load is normal and won't cause any damage to your batteries unless you are asking too much amp draw from them.

Your problem lies somewhere downstream of your inverter and how it is connected into your 110v outlets.

Is there a combined load on the inverter from multiple appliances? You mentioned it has a watt meter on the inverter I think. What is the normal draw while hooked up with no apparent loads running?
__________________
2014 Jayco Swift 281BHS, 300W Solar!
2015 F250 XLT 4x4 Crew Cab, Short box, 6.2 gas
Subaru297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 03:04 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
What gauge wire did you use for the 110AC leg? 12 or 10AWG is what should be used. Do you plug in the inverter's output into the TT's shore power connector on the side of the TT?

Don
I used some direct burial 10-3 I had laying around. Of course no need for three wire ,but its what I had and it has a tough skin. I eliminated any problem with my plug installs by just running an extension cord from the inverter to shore power plug. Still does the same thing. Yes I ran the romex to a plug I mounted in the side of the trailer right next to the shore power cord. Same thing I did with my gen. So I figure I can just plug the shore power cord into either the gen. power or the inverter power. I'm not a genius with this stuff so I wanted to keep it as simple as possible.
rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 03:21 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subaru297 View Post
The fact that when you plug in directly to the inverter and it works fine should tell you something. Your batteries and inverter wiring are all fine and the inverter is capable of handling that load.

Your 650 watt coffee maker for example draws your battery down to 11.9 volts while under load.
650 / 11.9 = 54.6 amps.......
If you ran your coffee maker for 1 hour it would consume 54.6 amp-hours from your battery. The seven minutes or so that you actually run it for uses 6.4 amp-hours. This is hardly stressing your batteries as you have seen. Voltage drop under load is normal and won't cause any damage to your batteries unless you are asking too much amp draw from them.

Your problem lies somewhere downstream of your inverter and how it is connected into your 110v outlets.

Is there a combined load on the inverter from multiple appliances? You mentioned it has a watt meter on the inverter I think. What is the normal draw while hooked up with no apparent loads running?
With no apparent loads the very last led just flickers. But there is the clock, and the microwave leds. so some slight draw. I pulled all the dc fuses out this morning and same thing. The microwave manual says it draws 1500 watts. And when its on, thats just what the inverter leds say. Its pinned. So maybe the microwave is a little more than the inverter can handle. Which is fine. No big deal not using it. But the coffee maker at 650 watts shouldnt be giving a problem. And it doesnt, plugged directly into the inverter. I'm ready to just use it as is and the hell with it. It beeped only two times this morning. I used a hair dryer on med. setting as a test subject. My amprobe says it draws 6.5 amps. Similar to the coffee maker. I just dont want it to beep all night. its in the basement right under my pillow BTW...I found 1500 watts to be 12.5 amps.
rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 04:00 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 803
Obviously, you have the inverter in the basement I take it which would be the pia that you mentioned. Just for kicks, have you tried a 15' extension cord with at least #14 wire in it?? Just to see what happens. It would be interesting to find just where the problem is. Did you run a dedicated wire using dedicated outlets or tie into the existing outlets?? Cant help but think that the unit is sensing a ground fault or something like that.
Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 04:10 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 796
1500 watts is around 12.5 amps on the AC (110v) side but on the DC side it is around 130amps.
The more you pull from the battery the greater the voltage drop which means the amps goes up too. If you drop to 11.9 running the coffee maker you might drop to 11 ?? while trying to run the microwave.

1500/11=136amps being pulled out of the battery.

Also your 8inches of 6 gauge wire drops 0.08 volts at 130 amps and your 3.5 feet of 0 gauge drops 0.09 volts at 130 amps so the short 6 gauge wire is not really hurting anything.

Sorry I can't help with the inverter issue. You can probably try your microwave at half power and see if that works. Not really sure it will though as half power on the microwave might just be full power with a 50% duty cycle. I am not up on my microwave specs......

Does this inverter give you the full 1500W off of any of the outlets? Some advertise 1500Watts but really that is 500watts per outlet......
__________________
2014 Jayco Swift 281BHS, 300W Solar!
2015 F250 XLT 4x4 Crew Cab, Short box, 6.2 gas
Subaru297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 04:12 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 796
Just for reference....

Voltage Drop Calculator
__________________

__________________
2014 Jayco Swift 281BHS, 300W Solar!
2015 F250 XLT 4x4 Crew Cab, Short box, 6.2 gas
Subaru297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.