Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2014, 09:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 39
Extension cord question

I want to purchase a 100' extension cord to be able to reach from my TT to a home outlet to use for just a few hours at a time. Would a 12 gauge be sufficient or do I have to go to a 10 gauge? Thank You
__________________

cobblestone1820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Western New York
Posts: 138
12 Gauge is perfectly fine for normal light loads.

If there is any chance you will run the AC, you need the 10 gauge. But of course you would then need a 20Amp house receptacle.
__________________

LkptRvPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CENTRAL NEW YORK
Posts: 769
I bought a Yellow Jacket 100ft 10 gauge and replaced the ends with 30 amp RV ends. Not cheap but wanted one continuous length. I only use it when camper is in storage spot before snow hits and since my outlet is on the house and only 5 feet of wire was needed from the box to the outlet and its dedicated I have no problems with voltage drop.
But I would not consider 12 gauge if you want to use AC or Microwave..
__________________
2013 33 RLDS
2004 Chevy Avalanche 2500 8.1
2007 TBSS
2001 Oldsmobile Aurora
2015 Chrysler 200C AWD
33 RLDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 04:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 39
Thanks

Ok, sorta what I was thinking. Yea, knew I would need a 20 amp breaker in house, but was not 100% sure on cable. I will go with the 10 gauge as I will be using the a/c. Thank you once again.
cobblestone1820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 05:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 349
Extension cord

Your breaker will be undersized running a/c using 20 amp breaker , your breaker by code is rated at 80% load which is 16 amps, you may need to consider that
__________________
KELLY & LINDY ( SEMI RETIRED)
FORT WORTH,TEXAS
2000 FORD F-150 V-6/4.2
2006 JAYCO JAY FEATHER 23B EXP
EQUILIZER HITCH
Kellys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 11:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 39
Hmmmmm

So I guess I need a 30 amp. Ok Thanks
cobblestone1820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 08:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,944
If you're going to be living there for a while, why not just bury a direct bury cable back to the parking location and set up your own CG shore station post with a 30 amp outlet. That's what I did and as soon as I get home the TT gets plugged in. Extention cords are unsightly and a pain to extend and put away. $$'s about the same for the CG shorestation vs the extension.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 08:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tunce the traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bellingham,Wa.
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassdogs View Post
If you're going to be living there for a while, why not just bury a direct bury cable back to the parking location and set up your own CG shore station post with a 30 amp outlet. That's what I did and as soon as I get home the TT gets plugged in. Extention cords are unsightly and a pain to extend and put away. $$'s about the same for the CG shorestation vs the extension.
That's what I did for power and I also have water and sewer. The grand kids use it as their own playhouse when they visit.
Tunce the traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 02:50 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 39
Thanks

Yea that is also an option and a good one in fact. I may go that route.
cobblestone1820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 03:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 39
One other thing Bob, if I DO run an underground cable to a post and install a 30 amp box there, what size cable do I need to bury, AND what distance can I go with it. Camper is about 175 feet away from house, and post would be close to the camper. Thanks ----- Mike
__________________

cobblestone1820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.