Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2011, 11:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
BudMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Instalng a Battery Box

We just bought our first trailer, a JayCo hybre (Ex-port 17c)

The trailer didn't come with a battery or box (the dealer says they don't provide them because you don't really need them????? When I said, "how about powering the emergency brake all I got was "huh?")

Anyways, we ent to otrJayco dealer and bought a battery box. There is no way to mount it to the frame. I sincerely hope that you are not supposed to just strap it on with the provided strap.

Does the box frame on the trailer expand contract? There are two bolt holes on the battery box frame but they are blocked by the "A" frame under neath. It looks like the frame will expand (but right now they are covered in ice). The battery box I bought does not have any holes in the base of it but drilling them is no problem but again, the holes in the frame are blocked by the "A" frame below.

We are not real impressed with customer service by both our JayCo dealer and the second one where we bought the battery box.
__________________

__________________
Bud
When asked by the cute televison reporter why he had shot a bank robber 6 times with his .45, the Texas Ranger replied, "because they don't make a .50"
BudMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 12:43 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
I was provided with a battery and a battery box as well as an RV starter kit, with hoses, adapters etc in it. I think most dealers do provide these things, and it is my understanding that you do need a battery hooked up to operate the breakaway brake. I have used the strap provided with the box with no problems to strap it down. But they do tend to sun rot over time. IMHO the dealer is being cheap and should not let the unit leave the lot without a battery on board and should provide one.. -Lee
__________________

__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tanker42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Eastern Virginia
Posts: 223
The setup on my camper is 2 pieces of angle iron welded on top of the frame. The battery box sits on the angle iron. Then a web strap holds the battery and box in place. Like Crabman, I too was provided a RV starter kit. Hope this helps.
__________________
Joe
2004 F150 SuperCrew Lariat, 5.4L, Max Towing, CIPA Towing Mirrows, Timbren
2006 Jay Flight, 31 BHDS
Reese Strait-Line Dual Cam
Prodigy P2
Tanker42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Duran1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 52
Most A frames have just the right width for a battery box. I also hated it strapping the box down all the time. I bought a Noco battery box like the one below. It has a snap -top lid and then drilled it into the A-frame . Tight as could be. No more straps.
Hope this helps

http://www.amazon.com/Noco-Heavy-Dut...6082479&sr=8-5
__________________
2005 Jay Flight 27BH
2008 Toyota Tundra Crew Max
Duran1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 09:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanker42 View Post
The setup on my camper is 2 pieces of angle iron welded on top of the frame. The battery box sits on the angle iron. Then a web strap holds the battery and box in place. Like Crabman, I too was provided a RV starter kit. Hope this helps.
I agree with this battery box mounting method. For pictures, surf:

http://www.title-3.com/images/Tray.jpg

http://www.title-3.com/images/12vGrp24.jpg

In the bottom of the battery box, I also place 1/2" thick plywood sheet. Thus, creating some softness on road bumps. Also, I heard many times that batteries should sit on wood. Especially when in storage.

Hope this pictures help...

.
Spike99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Merrimack NH
Posts: 804
Budman-- If I were you , I would put in a call to Jayco to find out if you need that battery for the em brake, and then explain that your dealer did not provide, nor know that one was needed. Ask Jayco to call the dealer and tell him provide you with that battery in a mounted box on your trailer if it is required . I would then try to find another Jayco dealer in your area to deal with. Like Crabman says you dealer is just being cheap.
__________________
Larry & Rachel Demers 2013 F150 Eco Boost Super Cab 6.5 bed 6 sp. 3.31 4x4
29BHS ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:23 PM   #7
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Here`s a pic of my battery box mounted on the bracket behind the propane tanks. There is enough room on the bracket for two batteries if desired. I installed a disconnect switch on the box.


https://www.jaycoowners.com/attachmen...1&d=1296177752
Attached Thumbnails
Jayco oct 2009 013.jpg  
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 04:31 PM   #8
Member
 
musclecarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 65
Drill a couple of holes in the bottom of the battery box for drainage. They WILL fill with water in a heavy rain.
__________________
2010 Jayco 19 BH
2008 Dodge Ram 2500 QC 6.7 Cummins Diesel
musclecarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 04:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
I'm not familiar with that partucular trailer, but assuming that it has electric brakes and a break-away switch to lock up the brakes, without a battery, how would the electric brakes work in the event the trailer broke away from the TV?
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 06:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
I am not familiar with your trailer, but does it not have any interior lights? If it does then you will need a battery in case you do not have hook-ups.
__________________

Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.