Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ladywendolyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Manitoba Canada
Posts: 553
Adding Electrical outlets

Has anyone ever added a couple of extra electrical outlets to your trailer?
Our new 28BHS does not have a plug on the counter where I would like to plug in my coffee maker.. Just wondering what my options are?
__________________

__________________


Lady Wendolyn Jayflight 28BHS

For a tour of my glamorous, cool camper, and an "Ad a bifold door Mod: http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventures.blogspot.ca

For these Mods: Master bedroom shelving in closets and countertop extension: http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventure...es-camper.html

For this Mod: Adding a wall light switch to the master bedroom:
http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventure...ht-switch.html
Ladywendolyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rodro123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 458
I have added extra electrical box's to a older TT in the past. What I did was to find the closest box daisy chain wiring using an electrical square conduit, wiring and a surface mount electrical box. It worked just fine.
__________________

__________________
Rod & Linda From Wisconsin
1- Labs (Ronnie)
2018 Eagle 330 RSTS
2015 Chevy Silverrado 2500
14,000#/1400 Equal-i-zer 4-way sway bars
rodro123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AZ, USA, Earth
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodro123 View Post
I have added extra electrical box's to a older TT in the past. What I did was to find the closest box daisy chain wiring using an electrical square conduit, wiring and a surface mount electrical box. It worked just fine.
I did the same with an older TT back in the early '70s except I cheated; I gutted the entire trailer and completely rewired it (among other things).

What the OP can do is steal power from another outlet in the same wall and fish the power over to it. If there are too many studs nin the way, then a Wiremold adapter box can be mated to the existing outlet box or installed nearby then surface mount Wiremold can be used to get the power to a surface mount Wiremold box in the new location. A more sanitary option that would also allow stealing power from another wall or the electical panel would be to go down through the floor and back up in the new location (trickier but doable).

The easiest option would be to plug a power strip into an existing outlet and let it set on a counter or on the floor (don't let dangle). Some can also be fastened to the wall.
__________________
Jeannie
Lady Fitzgerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 04:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
We use a strip in the trailer for our Linxis, two phone chargers, and my computer. We have another under the table for Sallies computer and sewing machine and any other thing that needs to be plugged in. We have one outside for the extra refirgerator, outside lights, and crock pot when it is used. They all have a breaker built in and we have never had to reset.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AZ, USA, Earth
Posts: 1,342
I've never lived anywhere that had adequate outlets. Heck, I carry a 6' extension cord and a one to three outlet adapter when I travel. One of the first things I do when I move into a new place is to start adding outlets. I added seven 120V outlets, five hardwired smoke detectors, and one 30A dryer outlet to the mobile home I'm living in within a year after moving in(also added two ceiling fans with lights and one without, and two ceiling lights).
__________________
Jeannie
Lady Fitzgerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,236
I added an electrical outlet in my camper. Did it just like I would in our home. I installed the outlet in a cupboard with the face of the outlet on the outside of the cupboard. The outside walls are too thin to put an outlet (to be used inside) in them, at least in my Z.
__________________
No I am NOT retired. I work full time.:D

Tracy from Central PA

2010 Jayco 17Z Ex-Port
2004 Ford Explorer V8 with the tow package
2010 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 132 - Nights Camping in My Z 102
2011 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 107
2012 Camping Stats
Nights camping 133 - Nights camping in my Z 128
2013 Camping Stats
Nights Camping 66 Nights
tlhdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
Make sure whatever you add is GFCI since it is in a wet location. Unless you tie in behind the first one in series where the whole circut is protected as a result.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:18 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
We plug our coffee maker in the recept between the small window and the stove. A nice feature of the 28BHS is the L shaped kitchen with LOTS of counter space as far as trailers go.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ladywendolyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Manitoba Canada
Posts: 553
Lee
we have the same layout.. for our new 28bhs, but when we looked at it today it appeared that the cord would probably not reach...
What brand of coffee maker do you have?
__________________


Lady Wendolyn Jayflight 28BHS

For a tour of my glamorous, cool camper, and an "Ad a bifold door Mod: http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventures.blogspot.ca

For these Mods: Master bedroom shelving in closets and countertop extension: http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventure...es-camper.html

For this Mod: Adding a wall light switch to the master bedroom:
http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventure...ht-switch.html
Ladywendolyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:36 AM   #10
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladywendolyn View Post
Lee
we have the same layout.. for our new 28bhs, but when we looked at it today it appeared that the cord would probably not reach...
What brand of coffee maker do you have?
Its a Cuisinart. We also had a cheapo Black & Decker that worked there.
__________________

__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.