Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2020, 08:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mount Joy PA
Posts: 69
Atwood 2540 2 stage furnace thermostat

Background-I have installed several house thermostats in rvs, so when my dads thermostat died I replaced it. The ac works fine and when he used the furnace it did not. He asked the dealer to look at it and they said it is a two stage furnace and has a special thermostat that isn't readily available. We told them to let it go while we researched this issue. I have attached screen shots of Atwood wiring and thermostat and a Honeywell wiring diagram. I need to pull the wires out again to see what color wires was where, but was wondering if anyone else has ran into this. He has an older Jayco Designer series and what I found online is scarce. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2329.jpg   IMG_2330.jpg   IMG_2331.jpg  
__________________

__________________
Ron, Karen, Bekah & Koen Grose + Jenna(dog)
Mount Joy Pa
2011 Jayco 365 BHS
2008 Pilgrim 328 BHSS(sold)
1995 Jayco 264 BH(sold)
2012 Ram CC Cummins 4x4 SRW w/4.10
Rmgrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 09:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 164
Not an HVAC guy, but I have replaced several as well.

Is the fan kicking on and blowing cold air or not doing anything at all?

2 stage is just low heat and high heat (2nd stage). If low heat doesn't warm, 2nd stage kicks in.

2 stage should have 4 wires from furnace, power, fan, heat stage 1 (W1), heat stage 2 (W2). The Atwood diagram only has 3 for some reason. A 2 stage can run with a single W wire if W1 and W2 are jumpered at the control board (or thermostat if two wires come from furnace). Stage 1 kicks in and 2nd stage kicks in 10 min later if it hasn't turned off (warmed up enough). Looks like the thermostat is only 1 stage - only W1 - no W2.

I'd double check the wiring first no matter what it is doing. If the fan is blowing but no heat, I'd focus in on the W1/W2 wiring.
__________________

__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 31FS
mini4mw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 06:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Gilmer, Texas
Posts: 798
Just glancing thru Atwood manual I think thier tstat is actually a " communicating " type. I will look when have more time plus I need to get on the big screen to follow schematic.. One wire is a 7.5 volt lead so I'm thinking you are locked in to the Atwood thermostat.
__________________
S.A.Young
2011 321RLTS
2012 Chevy duramax dually
poohbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 06:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Gilmer, Texas
Posts: 798
Forgot to ask, why do you think thermostat was bad ? More likely the control board in furnace.
__________________
S.A.Young
2011 321RLTS
2012 Chevy duramax dually
poohbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 08:20 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mount Joy PA
Posts: 69
Thank you for looking. I seen some of the original thermostats online that we might need to buy. The display on his didnít work so you couldnít see the temps.
Rmgrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×