Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-05-2024, 06:28 PM   #1

Multiple CPAP’s on One 12v Socket?

I have an air sense 10 that I’ve been using for two months now. Heater set to 81 and humidity to 3. Air I believe is 6-8. I finally used it last night with a meter and it said it used .22kwh over the span of 9.10 hours. It looks like the draw was about 18.3ah.

Does that sound about right? My wife will be starting to use the same machine soon and I figure the settings will be about the same because we had similar sleep study results.

How can we go about powering our machines when boondocking? We have one 12v outlet under the tv in the wall outside our bedroom. Can we possibly run one or even BOTH machines from that single 12v outlet by using a splitter?

We do have a second 12v outlet at the rear of the camper. Should we look into a 12v extension cable so that each machine can use its own 12v outlet?

For what it’s worth, we will be running 2 100ah lithium batteries that will be topped off every night via solar and/or generator.
LongIslandCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2024, 04:21 PM   #2

For best advice, post make, model and year of your RV.
Based on mine I would run a direct line (with fuse or breaker) from the battery to two outlets. My single outlet has a tiny wire and it might overheat or blow the fuse. Plus more convenient to have them where you need them and no wires to trip over.

Post how many feet the run would be and I bet some one with more electrical knowledge will suggest the minimum and recommended wire and fuse sizes. While your running these, add a usb charge port!
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2024, 06:00 PM   #3