Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2015, 09:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond
Posts: 60
Run ac fan and furnace

I put a deposit down on a new to me 2013 Jayco White Hawk 29SQB and I'll be picking it up in a few weeks.

I was going through the camper doing an initial quick PDI and noticed the AC fan wouldn't cut on with the furnace running. Is that a normal thing? The AC fan will turn on fine if I turn the heat off. Is this something I can change? My wife loves the camper with the exception of a lack of heater vent in the front bedroom, and was hoping the fan would help circulate the heat better.
__________________

vtdanokim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Castro Valley
Posts: 222
I believe it is normal. The AC fan will only work when the selection is turned to cool, not heat.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jay Flight 26 BHS Elite with 320 watts of Solar from AM Solar
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax

ddrueckh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddrueckh View Post
I believe it is normal. The AC fan will only work when the selection is turned to cool, not heat.
Hmm that's a bummer. Does anyone know if there's a way to modify things, maybe the thermostat, to have them both run at the same time?
vtdanokim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
You would have to install a seperate switch, but that may mess up the thermostat. I would call Coleman and talk to their tech service dept.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 11:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond
Posts: 60
I'm willing to swap out the thermostats if that'll help as well.
vtdanokim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 01:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
troutslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW AR (God's Country)
Posts: 1,852
It will be interesting to see if you can get that done. I think the reason may be that the AC (and AC fan) are on 110 electrical and the furnace (and furnace fan) are on 12V DC. "and never the twain shall meet". Please post your outcome, cuz I'm also interested in this possibility.
__________________
Skip

2012 Eagle Super Lite HT 26.5RKS
2005 GMC 2500 SLT HD D/A
troutslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 01:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by troutslayer View Post
It will be interesting to see if you can get that done. I think the reason may be that the AC (and AC fan) are on 110 electrical and the furnace (and furnace fan) are on 12V DC. "and never the twain shall meet". Please post your outcome, cuz I'm also interested in this possibility.
True, but I'm curious why when the thermostat is set to Heat, it locks out the fan from running. There's got to be a way to override this as when we were looking at new Prime Time Tracer units with the same thermostat, the salesman said we could run both to get heat into the queen bedroom.

Also, I REALLY want the ac fan to constantly run for white noise...
vtdanokim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 02:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
The 12 volt is only control voltage. It closes a relay up in the ac that turns on the fan and/ or compressor. It may be possible to add a switch, but Coleman would be who to ask.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 02:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ninjahbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Eatonton
Posts: 305
It may be a safety issue with the heat side, fire hazard?
ninjahbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 03:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
The 12 volt is only control voltage. It closes a relay up in the ac that turns on the fan and/ or compressor. It may be possible to add a switch, but Coleman would be who to ask.
Perfect, that's the info I was looking for. Now to dig through the Coleman manual to see how I can bypass the relay.
__________________

vtdanokim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.