Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-22-2022, 09:50 AM   #1

Help with details on towing, please

Hi all,

I am a woeful newbie in terms of towing our dual-axle 2003 Kiwi Too 22U trailer with our 2019 2WD/4WD V6 Chevy Colorado pickup and I'm hoping the towing gurus here can help us out, please.

So our weight info sticker in the trailer indicates that the trailer GVWR is 5800 lbs, and the CCC for the trailer is 1825 lbs.

The 2019 V6 Chevy Colorado has a towing capacity limit of 7000 lbs.

Am I correct then to say that as long as my wife and I keep below 1825 lbs of added weight for a camping trip (I have to figure we would stay WELL below this), then we're "good" on the Kiwi's GVWR no problem, and, we're "good" in terms of the towing capacity of our Colorado pickup? It sure seems to me like we would be, but I'm hardly an expert on this topic and I'm hoping folks here might be able to enlighten me if I'm misinterpreting anything important, etc. If you see any critical pieces of information missing above in order to weigh in with an opinion (no pun intended...), please just let me know and I'll try to provide it. Thanks in advance here for any thoughts and help.

We plan to install a brake controller (a given, I know, and the Colorado is already all set up for it in terms of wiring etc.), an "Air Lift" kit for the rear suspension of the Colorado truck (our Kiwi seller was quite impressed with how little the truck sagged down upon our getting the Kiwi tongue weight on the truck when we departed his place; but he recommended we do an Air Lift kit for the truck regardless, so we plan to do that), and an anti-sway hitch.

Thanks for your attention and I hope you can provide me with some good feedback on this. Charley in Lafayette CO --
Chale44incolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2022, 11:01 AM   #2