Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2015, 06:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
Slide won't go out

2014 31DS. Bedroom slide works fine but dinette/fridge is a no go. In works ok but will not even make a noise when going out. House batt shows full charge, I am plugged in to 30A power, reset all breakers and master power switch. Checked underneath and don't see any loose or bad wires, corrosion, or places where wire is shorted. The control panel switch shows a purple wire connected to the out terminal. I reversed the connections and tried the switch again but it made no difference so I guess it's good. I found an inline fuse in a purple wire underneath the RV but it seems to be good. Other than bypassing the fuse I'm out of ideas. I will say that it took a few tries to get the out to work during the last couple trips. My apologies for not searching first but I can't find the search function using my phone. Thanks Dave
__________________

renman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 06:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,110
hummm, Do you have a multi-meter? It sounds like you visually checked the fuse in the purple wire. Did you check it with a meter? Sometimes fuses looked good, but they popped. If you have a spare, I would swap it out. If not, I would buy a few.

With a helper, I would have someone press the switch, and use the meter, to verify you have power to the motor. If you do, then is sounds like the motor is shot.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 06:46 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
Forgot to transfer a meter from the old to the new. Does it use different motors for in and out ?
renman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 06:48 PM   #4
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,046
No, just reverses polarity.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 07:10 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
Ok. I'll call the Local Jayco dealer in the morning and see if I should try bypassing the fuse for a test
renman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 07:46 PM   #6
Member
 
donellen30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 96
Have you gotten an answer? We have exact same issue inn our 2011 31DS. New motor and control module replaced last year and here we are again! Service can't take until mid August so we have been camping without using the slide.
__________________
Don and Ellen
2016 Precept 31UL
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
donellen30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 09:11 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
I had given up but our son tried the switch a couple of times the next day and it went out just fine. Brought it in fine today when leaving campground but set up in new campground and it won't go out again. Maybe it will tomorrow
renman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 09:36 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
Well it went out the next time I tried. What I did was push the in then out Kind of like rocking a car out of the snow
renman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 09:53 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Sounds like you could have a bad connection on your switch. I would take the switch apart and check the connections.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 09:56 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 26
I'll see about getting a new switch or at least try bypassing it
__________________

renman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.