Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2014, 08:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 51
Wiring Diagram

I contacted Jayco stating that I was installing some lights on the outside of my rig and really was concerned that I would not drill into any existing wiring.

They responded this morning that since my rig is still "under Warranty" they could not supply the information and that I should take to the local dealer and pay them $125.00 per hour to perform work that I am more than qualified to do ( IF I HAD THE SCHEMATIC).

Since they refused to provide warranty service for an issue I am having with my roof, I find their response - inadequate at best!

So done with my ranting.

Can anyone help with a diagram or information before I drill into the rig?

I am wanting to put the wires through an access in the bathroom closet at the top.

Thanks in advance and glad to be part of this forum
__________________

__________________
Gary & Brenda
2012 JayFlight 22FB
1996 Chevy Tahoe 4X4
NewCamperOldTimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
I have run into the same response from Jayco as have others. Quite honestly, I think a set of plans should be provided with each unit they sell. I was also wanting to look at routing of cable wires, etc for television locations but instead had to figure it all out by trial and error. Maybe a class action lawsuit from all new owners might get their attention.
__________________

__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
Based on my own experiance in wiring houses, even though you are pulling the same wires, to the same locations, over an over again, they are never exactly the same, certainly not close enough to tell the owner to " drill here ".

I'm sure Jayco lawyers would get a bit nervous if they gave you plans, and you nicked a 110v line, then went camping in it.

It would be nice to have , but I understand why Jayco doesn't want to give it out.
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 11:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 97
Regarding availability of plans and diagrams, to see what is possible, go over to the Winnebago site. Seems like they have detailed engineering drawings for every system in their motorhomes, as pdf's, available to the consumer.

Now, Winnebago is not perfect. One can find posts about all kinds of problems with their products, but at least the information is available.

Winnebago's profit margin may be such that it allows them to record and post such information, but I think it has more to do with corporate culture and what the organization thinks is the right thing to do.

Does it cost more to do that than to not do it? Probably. Is it a lot? Probably not.

Why doesen't Jayco or Starcraft or Forest River or most everyone do the same thing? They don't want to. Why? No idea. (could be bad advice from Legal, good advice form legal, a risk-averse culture, a bad experience x years ago, any number of things) They may not want to break that rice bowl for the dealer (read The Sand Pebbles or watch the movie with Steve McQueen...good stuff)

Not having drawings available makes me wonder if anybody really knows how the wires, plumbing, systems, Etc are actually installed. I expect someone, somewhere in the company does know, but they for whatever reason, are not telling anyone else.
__________________
2013 Starcraft 266RKS
1999 Ford E350 V10 Chateau (6.8L, 4.11 LS)
Retired:
2005 Cedar Creek 31LBHS
2001 Sprinter 303BHS
1997 Mallard 33Z
1990 Starcraft Starmaster
Bluestreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 08:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 51
My brother-in-law has a 14 year old Jayco and the factory was happy to send him complete schematics on his rig.

Lesson - you should purchase a used Jayco for better customer service.

Lesson learned!
__________________
Gary & Brenda
2012 JayFlight 22FB
1996 Chevy Tahoe 4X4
NewCamperOldTimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
Interesting, I was able to get 110 & 12v wiring, and several wall schematics when mine was still under warranty. Maybe this is a recent change?
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 06:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
John LLRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: East Grand Forks, MN
Posts: 317
Message me your email address and I will see what I can dig up.
John LLRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 08:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 51
Well, I found out that Jayco Service does not have the wiring diagram and IF they had told me that (instead of saying they couldn't while the rig is "under warranty) I would have been less upset with them

Namusmc65 I totally agree that the diagrams should be provided in the information packet ( and I'll bet if I had made that a condition of the sale it would have been provided) along with all the information on the other systems.

Well I went ahead and pulled the inside wall down enough to peer behind and found no wires. Rig is out of warranty at the end of July and I will try again to get the diagrams. Wonder what excuse they will use then.

John LLRV - thank you for your help.

Happy trails y'all
__________________
Gary & Brenda
2012 JayFlight 22FB
1996 Chevy Tahoe 4X4
NewCamperOldTimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 03:07 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
labracorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Gravenhurst
Posts: 23
You can always use a Stud Sensor with live wire detection,they work on wood and metal studs.
labracorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 04:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by labracorn View Post
You can always use a Stud Sensor with live wire detection,they work on wood and metal studs.
X2.... just don't forget to have the power live when you test (and off when you drill)
__________________

Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.