Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2015, 05:48 PM   #1
Member
 
DocHarvick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 52
Keep tripping breaker and don't know why!

Went and got the Greyhawk from storage and found the fridge off. We plug the coach up to shore power through a dog bone just to keep the fridge on. Got it home and hooked it up to the house and soon after it tripped our breaker. I have always kept it hooked up without a problem. The only thing running is the Fridge, nothing else. Anyone have any idea why I am suddenly tripping the breaker?

I have the coach hooked to a standard household outlet via dog bone. It's a 15 AMP breaker but again, it's never caused a problem. Only thing I can think is that it's now summer, and overall power usage is up running ACs in the hot south! Could increase usage at the house lead to a tripped breaker?
__________________

DocHarvick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 07:22 PM   #2
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,032
Do you have a way to measure the voltage coming into your rig?
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 07:28 PM   #3
Member
 
DocHarvick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 52
My progressive industries EMS shows 119 volts coming in

I plug the rig up with the fridge off and the breaker does not trip. Turn on fridge, and it breaks. Again, nothing else on in coach. Am I right in thinking that for some reason the fridge is taking up more power than it should and tripping the breaker? That's worrisome to me!
__________________
2015 Greyhawk 31FS
2014 Ford Fusion Hybrid Energi
www.PaleoHikerMD.com
YouTube - PaleoHikerMD
DocHarvick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 07:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fairfax
Posts: 78
The fridge all by itself with everything else in standby shouldn't be enough to trip the breaker without first tripping the breakers in your converter.

If your house battery is dead (read: the battery was totally or nearly totally discharged, or just won't take a charge, so the converter is throwing everything it can at it), that combined with the fridge may be enough current to trip a 15A breaker. I'm not 100% sure what the draw on both are, however.

Check the fluid levels in the battery. If OK, disconnect the battery (no charging and no loads), let it sit for a few hours and check the voltage with a volt meter if you have one (fully charged should be 12.9-13.4, for lead acid batteries, IIRC). Alternatively take it up to your local auto parts store to be tested. If the level is low, carefully add distilled water.

There's also a way to disable the charging in the converter by either pulling a fuse or turning off a breaker. Given the wide variety of converters and the fact I've never needed to do that, I can't give you any advice there.

I know on one of my old trailers with a Dometic fridge, I could open the outside fridge compartment and unplug my fridge. Perhaps you could unplug it there, plug the fridge in with an extension cord directly to your house and see if it still pops. That should let you know whether the problem is with the fridge or your RV.
__________________
2015 Octane T32C
2012 Ford F-250 Lariat/FX4/Diesel
DustyGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 07:33 PM   #5
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,032
I am assuming you are in warranty! Is this a GFCI breaker that is tripping?

Here is a thread from a while back that indicates it was a wet plug somewhere on the GFCI circuit.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f8...help-9934.html

I would leave the rig plugged up and as the previous poster said, power the fridge from a different ac source.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 07:46 PM   #6
Member
 
DocHarvick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 52
It is not a GFCI, it is tripping at the breaker box.

I plugged the fridge directly to house power (via access panel) and so far it is running and no breaker issue. I'm guessing there must be some sort of short that is popping the breaker?

Yes, under warranty. It's only 6 weeks old! Plus we bought extended warranty so I don't have to worry about this mess 😜

Was just planning on going camping this weekend so don't want to take it to shop till next week. We will see...

Let me know yall agree, and thanks for the help!
__________________
2015 Greyhawk 31FS
2014 Ford Fusion Hybrid Energi
www.PaleoHikerMD.com
YouTube - PaleoHikerMD
DocHarvick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 08:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
Water heater?
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 08:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,496
Is anything else on the circuit you plug into ? And yes a drop in voltage will result in a rise in amperage, if your close this could be an issue.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 08:01 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Filthy-Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 269
When it trips, what else in the house looses power?
__________________
2015 Jay Flight 31 RLDS
2015 F250, Reese straightline
Ham Lic: W4TFB
Filthy-Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 08:48 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHarvick View Post
It is not a GFCI, it is tripping at the breaker box.

...
Sorry to ask such a dumb question, but does the breaker have a "Test" button on it? If yes, it is a GFCI type breaker which will mechanically trip the breaker handle to a mid position the same as an overload.

I agree that additional loads on the circuit are a possibility for overload.

Another test would be to plug the rig into a known GFCI protected receptacle (kitchen?) to see if that GFI trips.

So many times these issues trace to ground leakage. It only takes 5 mA leakage to to trip a GFI intended for personal protection.

FWIW. vic
__________________

VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.