Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-08-2017, 08:11 PM   #1

Levellers or slide outs first?

Total newbie here. I purchased my greyhawk 29me two weeks ago. The owners guide says extend slide outs first, then put down the levellers. The very next paragraph contradicts that and says put down levellers first, then extend slide outs.
Can anyone help me out and clear this up?
Hapax Legomenon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 08:19 PM   #2

Precept info is clear as mud on that point as well.
chasfenwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 08:31 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hapax Legomenon View Post
Total newbie here. I purchased my greyhawk 29me two weeks ago ....
I don't have a Greyhawk but I have found that if you level your rig and then put out the slides, you will be slightly out of level. So, what I do with my FW is unhook from truck, auto-level, run out the slides, and then auto-level again.
2019 Silverado 3500HD - Duramax - SRW - 4WD - CC - LTZ - 8' Bed
Reese M5 20K
triplebvalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 08:32 PM   #4

This is one of those questions that can go either way. There is no right or wrong do what you feel comfy with.
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 08:34 AM   #5

We have a 2015/2016 Seneca 37FS and over the years have had to do it both ways because of binding. Best for us has been to raise on to levelers after slide outs are out and drop back on to suspension before bringing slides in. This seems to be the way that there is less torque on the frame and the unit is sitting on normal suspension.
2016 Jayco Seneca 37FS
2016 Chevrolet Traverse
2018 Cheverolet Silverado
rgolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 08:44 AM   #6

My first five steps are always the same:

1. Unhitch camper and level.
2. Unload generator