Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2016, 05:18 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 229
Norcold refrig not starting

On my Seneca the refrig won't start. It is on a slope. Does it have to be reasonably level to work properly?

Thanks,

Mike
__________________
Mike
2015 Seneca HJ
mikew968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 05:47 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Springfield
Posts: 237
I would check your owners manual but most have to be fairly level or you can risk damaging it.
estesbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:05 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 3,207
Regarding level in our 12-series Norcolds, yes, it must be fairly close or it will not cool properly and you risk damaging the cooling unit. On the road the motion keeps things in check even on long grades.

Are you getting power to the unit, outside display and interior light working?
__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,080
If I remember correctly , 5 degrees side to side, for the fridge is the max. (front to rear on MH)
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,245
Not in a Seneca, but our Norcold in the Greyhawk was much, much more finicky about slope than our old Dometic.

I'd say level out and check it.
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 10:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: North Central Texas
Posts: 428
mikew968, does fridge doesn't come on mean there are no lights on control panel? You don't state whether you are trying to run on propane or AC. Is the 12V switch on? Is propane on?
__________________
Walt

2019 Renegade Valencia 38RW
Gone: 2015 Jayco Seneca / 2010 Tiffin RED / ...
Toads: 2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited / 2012 Kia Soul
WaltW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 10:26 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 27
Assuming you're talking about propane, I've found mine to be a bit finicky. I make sure I purge the propane line by running the stovetop for a bit. Even then, It seems to respond well to a few rapid depressions of the igniter. The "every 5 seconds" approach indicated on the sticker in the fridge doesn't work as well for me.
whatimmadoboutmylegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 09:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,245
Running the propane - yes!
If I had had the propane off (at the valve).

I forgot about that - it's a habit I got into with the old RV too. The furnace wouldn't fire up (as quickly) or the fridge. Running the stove first, lighting the burners, seemed to help.
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.