Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-14-2017, 11:20 AM   #1

Andersen Levellers

I thought it would be good to give a quick review of the Andersen Levellers now that I have been using them for a couple of years. I still consider them an essential part of my camping gear, and they are my “go to first” option for levelling, but I have found a couple of situations where they are ineffective, and I go back to my Lego blocks.

In general they are very easy to use, and you can hit level on the first shot, assuming that the site is not too off kilter. I have had a couple of situations where I needed more lift than the Andersen provided, and had to add Lego’s under the Andersens for extra height.

Also, I have a tight wheelbase, so did have to cut the toes off them to get them to fit. Unfortunately our new Maxxis tires are just a bit taller than the old Goodyear rubber, so they are back to being very tight now, but I can get them in place with a bit of convincing. A warning if you are going to cut them with a power saw; get ready for the biggest pink snowstorm you have ever seen. Use a dust collection system if you have one.

The first situation where they do not work well at all for us is in very soft sandy soil. At our favorite lakeside camping spot, I find that the levellers will sink down into the soft ground as much as they lift the TT. So they might dig in 1 to 1.5 inches as you back onto them. That only leaves about 1.5 of maximum lift, which is not enough. I think a slightly wider design might help this issue – because of the rounded shape, the contact patch is actually fairly small. The workaround here is the same as above, put something flat under to distribute the weight.