Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Go Back   Jayco RV Owners Forum > Jayco Tech and Tow > Product Reviews and Evaluations
Click Here to Login

Old 03-13-2021, 11:00 AM   #1

Pecron Q3000S, who needs a full solar install?, Not Me!

This a review of a device, but mostly insight for anyone who might want solar but has some of the same conditions, issues and thought processes that I have! It’s a bit lengthy, but I wanted to get my point across the best way I could without leaving too many questions on the table. I’m also not a professional on solar or a product reviewer, nor am I affiliated with anyone or product. I’m just a part time RV’er.

Due to the current situation, pertaining to crowded CG’s, for the past year I’ve been contemplating and researching on installing a full solar system for 1-2 nights, on that rare occasion, that I want to or have to boondock. I wanted a system with 300-400W panels, a 2,000+ inverter and 250+ AH of AGM Bats etc.., in my 2019 Redhawk 25R, (which has a Pre wired entry gland on the roof). Taking into consideration these following facts;
-We may be trading up in the next few years,
-I’m no longer in any kind of physical shape to do a full install myself.
-I didn’t want someone working on my rig that I don’t know and trust.
-Not much room for any extra gear.
-Keep the cost as low as possible.
-Don’t expect to run AC on such a small system,(use my gas gen during the day).
-I want to “KISS” (keep it simple) My wife needs a “KISS” lol