Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2015, 04:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 6
Installing Gen Prep & Generator

Hello my fellow Jayco friends. I'm new here (this is my first post) and new to RV'ing in general. We just purchased a beautiful 2013 Pinnacle and it has everything except...generator prep. (We have Onan 5500w generator from another RV that we acquired.) I've read lots of opinions on this and other forums comparing on-board generators vs. portables. We already have a Honda i2000 but for those rainy, snowy, or just plain cold days when my wife asks me to go outside to power up the genny...I just want to push a button from the comfort of my roving castle.

So, could anyone here shed their experiences or knowledge with installing all the components necessary to run our Jayco with an onboard generator? I have found very little online about this topic. I figured I'd ask here before my local Jayco service center...which I assume will be happy to charge me an arm and a leg.

Thanks!
__________________

WhiteNite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 07:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sharpsburg
Posts: 284
I'd check with Cummins. I spoke with a factory rep at the Hershey show and it's a daily task for them to do this. They even offer wireless remote start, since the unit won't already have the preinstalled hour meter and start stop switch.
__________________

Hoojs12840 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 08:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
The biggest challenge will be wiring in the transfer switch, especially if your circuit breaker panel is in the rear of the FW.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 11:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 53
Question for the OP, does the Honda meet you power requirements? If if does and all you are truly looking for is the remote start, Champion has a 3100 with remote start. For another option you could step up to a slightly larger Honda and then get a remote start retro fit for it.

How much is it going to cost to have an Onan installed vs. buying a generator with a remote start going to cost? If money for the project is no concern then sure why not get the onboard generator installed.
__________________
2015 RAM 2500 6.4 Hemi CC 4X4
2015 Eagle HT 29.5BHDS
dpi7800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 04:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sharpsburg
Posts: 284
I to have a Honda 3000iu. We just picked up our Northpoint 377rlbh two weeks ago and had a 5500 Onan installed prior to pickup. (Unit was generator prepped from factory). Prior to this unit I carried the Honda around. Problem is you have to run your powercord from the rear of most 5th wheels to the bed of the truck, or carry the generator to the back. Neither is convenient. Especially if your staying overnight in a parking lot or want to stop for a few hours in the middle of the day. You would have to secure it, or put it away when you went to bed or left to go inside, like at an amusement park.
Hoojs12840 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 09:48 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 6
It's not like money is not a factor but I'm willing to pay to do this. I figure it'll cost a couple thousand dollars or could DYI it to bring the costs down. I just want to know all the pieces involved, etc. and hope to learn from someone else's experiences. Also, with two A/C units (summer) and fireplace heater (winter), I'd think I would need more than 3000 watts.
WhiteNite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 10:19 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 6
oh yeah...and we have a washer/dryer combo unit that would need enough power when running.
WhiteNite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 11:06 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Wasaga Beach
Posts: 356
my '14 361REQS has gen-prep. The auto transfer switch is located behind the remote control wiring unit which accessible from the large storage bay. The power feed from the gen runs from there up to the front storage bay. The gen-prep included a fuel tank that I have removed as I don't have a genny. I plan to use a portable unit and either feed the trailer thru the transfer switch with a cord wired into the junction box or thru the regular shore cord. I don't plan to install a large genny as I want to go solar next year.

You can get all your wiring diagrams by emailing Jayco. They sent the full set for my trailer.
PlayersZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 11:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Wasaga Beach
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteNite View Post
oh yeah...and we have a washer/dryer combo unit that would need enough power when running.
You figure you'll have enough water/sewage capacity to run the washer/dryer when on generator?
PlayersZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 11:52 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 6
Thanks PlayersZ28! Yeah, I should be fine re: capacity.
__________________

WhiteNite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.