Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2012, 12:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 16
Another Must Have Item to add to your Inventory

My Travel Trailer has a 30 amp electrical service, and I always believed I would never need a 30 to 50 amp plug adapter because all the campgrounds I stay in would probably always have a 30 amp receptacle.

Well Easter weekend I camped in a State Park and as predicted, they did have a 30 amp receptacle. However, the circuit breaker had been flipped on & off so many times over the years it could no longer handle 30 amps.

I could run the A/C, but if I turned on the water heater, microwave or ice machine it would trip. I didn’t put a meter on it, but It seemed as though in could only handle about 20 amps instead of 30.

So I’m thinking, if I report the problem to the Park Ranger I don’t know how long it will take for them to come and swap out the breaker. I’m sure they would need to shut power off to other sites as well to fix the problem. That’s if a maintenance person was even available. I also didn’t want to pack up and move to another site, even if one was available.

Oooooh how I wished I had a 30 to 50 amp adapter. I could have plugged into the 50 amp receptacle and still have all the power I needed.

We made it through the weekend by plugging an extension cord into the 15/20 amp receptacle to run the ice machine, and used propane only for the water heater. We turned off the A/C when we needed to use the microwave.

So I recommend those of you who have a 30 amp service to buy an adapter if you don’t already have one.
__________________

lclevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:19 PM   #2
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,064
Good lesson. You have to be prepared for most any obstacle. The bigger the truck and your storage compartments the more you can be ready for when camping.

Don't forget extra water hose either.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
Speaking of extra water hose, when I arrived at my host site a year ago I found out the water spigot was on the wrong side of the site so I had to go pick up another 25' hose. No problem.
Last week when I arrived at the same site for the summer I looked in the basement for my extra hose. It wasn't there. I had unloaded it sometime during the winter at my home base garage. Sooooooo, now I have three 25' hoses, two here and one in reserve!
Oh well.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TexasA&M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 388
I bought a 50amp to 30 converter for that EXACT reason... if the site I'm at has both, I always plug into the 50amp socket because it has been used less and will be more reliable.
__________________
'11 G2 32BHDS
TexasA&M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:52 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasA&M View Post
snip......I always plug into the 50amp socket because it has been used less and will be more reliable.
Good point, I never looked at it that way before.

Bob
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Quahog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,531
X2 - I have the adapter but haven't had the need to use it yet. However, you make a very valid point, Tex.
__________________
Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:49 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3
I have a 30 to 50 amp converter but I've never used it. So are you saying that if I plug into the 50 amp this might prevent me from having to turn off the ac when using the microwave?
TNJayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Quahog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,531
No, he's saying it's a good thing to have in your tool bag. Someday, you might find a pedestal where the 30 amp side is not working but the 50 amp is so it would be a life saver.

He's also saying that if you ever notice, the 30 amp side of the pedestal gets a lot more use that the 50 amp receptacle. You will get a better connection if the receptacle is not as worn out.

The reason he's saying he couldn't run both the microwave and AC together is probably due to the poor pedestal connection which might cause the breaker to pop. Although it's rated for 30 amps, he was only seeing 20 amps get through before the breaker tripped.
__________________
Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
edowsfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 441
I wish they had eletric at the state parks in New England. with that said I will have to look into one of those converters/ adaptor for our stays in private campgrounds or Army Corps of Engineering Campgrounds.
edowsfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 05:25 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Quahog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,531
Really? No electric? Has water though, right?

I've got reservations at Scusset Beach for 5 days and the reservation says it has water and 30 amp electric.
__________________

__________________
Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.