Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2013, 07:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Electrical Outlet Issues...

Gosh, I hope some people can offer some help! We have just purchased a 2005 Jayco 27 ft travel trailer. We just got back from taking it out on the first adventure. After the first day, some of the outlets stopped working. The three in the master bedroom area, and the outlets where the tv/dvd plug into. We have tried to reset, now that we are home, hubby has replaced all the fuses. As well he put in a new gfi outlet, now none of the plugs are working! Needless to say, he is not happy. All outlets were working, I used one of them for a hair dryer, and we had our Bose dock plugged in. Now no power in them Any help or directions would be wonderful, as we aren't super handy people!!!
__________________

ddavy72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Explorer03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 261
You stated your hubby replaced all the fuses. Did he reset all the breakers? The outlets work off of 120v which would be shore power. The outlets do not work off of the 12v battery.
__________________

__________________
2015 F250 6.7L Lariat Crew Cab
2017 Jayco Jay flight 28BHBE
Equalizer 14K Brand WDH (2.5" Shank)
2013 Jayco Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
CMSgt USAF (Ret)
"GO BLUE". University of Michigan
Explorer03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:24 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Explorer03 View Post
You stated your hubby replaced all the fuses. Did he reset all the breakers? The outlets work off of 120v which would be shore power. The outlets do not work off of the 12v battery.
He did re-trip all the breakers, and its not going off the battery...we are still puzzled!
ddavy72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 01:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Explorer03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 261
Does the fridge work when in the elec setting? Does the AC and all other shore powered items work when pluged in?
__________________
2015 F250 6.7L Lariat Crew Cab
2017 Jayco Jay flight 28BHBE
Equalizer 14K Brand WDH (2.5" Shank)
2013 Jayco Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
CMSgt USAF (Ret)
"GO BLUE". University of Michigan
Explorer03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:50 AM   #5
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,047
Verify that the GFCI is not tripped. If not, you have a loose wire somewhere in the chain. VOM time. Be careful!
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Moving Target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Palominas, AZ
Posts: 330
ddavy, This happened to me....sort of. My outlets would work, then they wouldn't work. Long story short there is an electric post or panel behind the fuse box where all the electric is plugged into. Mine came loose enough that when it was touching the panel, the effected outlets would work. But if the trailer was moved the lines would seperate from the panel and the outlets wouldn't work.
Hope this helps.
Kathie
__________________

2011 Jayco Flight G2 23FB
2008 Dodge Ram 2500 HD
1500Weight Distribution System, Accupower Pilot Brake Control, Sway Control, Husky Elec Jack
Moving Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
First of all - welcome to the forum! Glad you have you. If you get a chance, come on over and introduce yourself in the new member forum.

I would Contact Jayco directly and see if they will send you the 120 volt wiring diagram for your trailer. From that you should be able to tell the first outlet in the chain. I would start there and work backwards. Does anything work at all on 120 volt? I would also unplug the trailer and see if you can see behind the cabinet where the wire comes into the trailer and goes to your power center and see if anything looks out of place. Not sure if you purchased it used, but if so the previous owner could have installed a surge protector or something in there as well that could have gone bad.

You mentioned that you are not super handy, so my recommendation is get with a local RV dealer and let them take a look. Hopefully it is something simple, but you dont want to take a chance.
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:05 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Moving Target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Palominas, AZ
Posts: 330
Terry, that is exactly what I did!! I didn't even know there was a elec pole that everything plugged into behind the fuse box. But the RV dealership took care of it for me.

I don't like to mess with elec!! Except for plugging in my coffee pot. hahaha
__________________

2011 Jayco Flight G2 23FB
2008 Dodge Ram 2500 HD
1500Weight Distribution System, Accupower Pilot Brake Control, Sway Control, Husky Elec Jack
Moving Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 01:53 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
Verify that the GFCI is not tripped. If not, you have a loose wire somewhere in the chain. VOM time. Be careful!
Yep check to see if have a GFCI outlet somewhere. Ours is in the bathroom and it had to be reset this past weekend.
THABULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:55 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moving Target View Post
ddavy, This happened to me....sort of. My outlets would work, then they wouldn't work. Long story short there is an electric post or panel behind the fuse box where all the electric is plugged into. Mine came loose enough that when it was touching the panel, the effected outlets would work. But if the trailer was moved the lines would seperate from the panel and the outlets wouldn't work.
Hope this helps.
Kathie
Ok, hubby asks, how do you get the panel off??? He has tried....
__________________

ddavy72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.