Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2014, 09:51 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,114
exceeding amps...how?

We checked into a local CG yesterday and it was hot. I set up and cranked up the A/C, turned on the wh on electric and all was well for a bit until we had 3 short power outages in a 10 minute span. I checked with the guy next to me and he initially reported no issues. I checked my EMS and it reported no errors but the voltage was around 106 and at 34 amps. How can I pull more amps than the 30a breaker is rated for without tripping the breaker?

We continued to have brief power outages and the guy next to me eventually lost power but it returned. The host acknowledged they had an issue with our sites last week and offered us 50a sites but once I switched the water heater to gas and the a/c to low the problem seemed to stop and my amp draw was in the low 20s. Anyone have a similar experience?
__________________

__________________
2013 26BH w/ 4 plain rims and some rust
2001 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 gasser
Black Bear programmed ECM
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 10:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 349
Amperage

Some breakers wont trip when exceeded until they get hot then they will .
__________________

__________________
KELLY & LINDY ( SEMI RETIRED)
FORT WORTH,TEXAS
2000 FORD F-150 V-6/4.2
2006 JAYCO JAY FEATHER 23B EXP
EQUILIZER HITCH
Kellys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 02:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
Has to do with Tolerance, Temperature, Duration, and Voltage…. Basically a 30 amp breaker will not trip at 30.00001 amps; more like 35 amps if exceeded for greater than 60 seconds, 40 amps if exceeded for more than 10 seconds, 50 maps if exceeded for more than 1 second… etc….
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 05:52 AM   #4
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,043
That is why the 30a pedestal breaker is so touchy in many CG's. They stay hot from max currant passing thru. The contacts corrode and deteriorate from constant use and they appear normal when checked by the management.
106v indicates to be the electrical feed is not large enough capacity from the full CG.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 06:15 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmooney View Post
[COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]Has to do with Tolerance, Temperature, Duration, and Voltage….
Whew! I thought this was going to be about my first wife!
__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 10:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,941
When running the AC I always switch the water heater to gas. Remember it is hot outside [otherwise you wouldn't need the AC] so once the water reaches temp, the actual gas usage is minimal to keep it hot. Even the reheat cycle after doing dishes or shower won't break the bank and will keep you cool with the AC running. If you want, turn the AC tstate to a higher setting briefly and switch the WH to elec after showers to let the tank heat back up. It just depends how much you want to jump thru hoops to save a few bucks in propane.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 10:56 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
popjim52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 156
Mine works absolutely fine until I use the microwave then it ALLWAYS blows the breaker!!!
__________________
popjim52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 70
\Probably a bad breaker. Try replacing it with a new one.
__________________

greyhawk885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.