Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2018, 08:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Neenah
Posts: 2
Furnace Newbie

Hi all - purchased a 2010 Jayco Jayfeather EXT this summer and am trying to fire up the furnace for the first time. Gas is working fine in my units fridge.

When I switch the thermostat to “on” nothing happens (no blower, etc). The switch in the furnace compartment is on “reset” (as compared to “off”). I’ve opened up the furnace panel to find the LED referenced in the manual and it is not lit at all - I’m assuming that it’s not getting power for some reason. No breakers are tripped in the only box I’m aware of and the fuses look ok (I didn’t pull them, just inspected from the front).

What am I missing??

Thanks in advance
__________________

packerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 08:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tower City
Posts: 186
Have you cycled the switch in the compartment? Just to make sure?
__________________

Fr8Train is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 08:55 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Neenah
Posts: 2
Yes I’ve switched from off to reset numerous times
packerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 808
Does your thermostat make an audible click when when you lower the temp to force it on? If it is mechanical it should click. Pull off the front and look at the wiring. Loose wires?

Pull the relevant fuse and put in a spare.

Good luck!
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.7 V6
Andersen WDH hitch
Dometic Milenco Aero mirrors
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tower City
Posts: 186
If that fails. Grab a multi meter and start testing the circuit.
Fr8Train is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 08:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,510
My thermostats (Coleman) have small fuses (glass tube type) in them. My power center has an LED for each fuse that will illuminate when the fuse is bad.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 10:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
ALJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sparwood, BC
Posts: 2,100
Send a message via Skype™ to ALJO
You can bridge the TH wires and go to the outside compartment of the furnace.
Check the LED's for fault.
You can reset the switch on the blower motor.
The sail switch and high limit switch are in this circuit of the reset switch, so any open circuit will not start the furnace.
__________________

__________________
2014 Ram 1500 CrewCab 4x4 5.7 Hemi 3.92 Rear and Air Lift 1000
2005 Jayco Jay Feather LGT - 29Y GVWR-7000 lbs.
Dexter Axle Lift 4-9/16" - installed with sub-frame.
Pro Series 1200 lbs. WDH with Double Sway Bar.
Champion 3100/2800 watt Inverter/Generator-Onboard Solar Power
ALJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.