Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-22-2011, 10:19 PM   #1

How do I hook up inverter?

I want to have all the 110V sockets run off my batteries when I am not hooked into shore power. I see inverters that would allow me to do that. I've never done this before and am wondering what the difficulty level is?
benjamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:41 AM   #2

What you are wanting can be somewhat more complex if you want to have every socket powered. It would involve adding a fairly large inverter that includes a transfer switch. In addition you are going to need to add several more batteries depending on your application. You could be looking at considerable expense.

What exactly are you wanting to power and for how long? Give us some more details and you will get more people to chime in.

Terry

2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:17 PM   #3

Eventually, I would like to add solar panels and use my batteries without hooking up for a 2-3 days. Within those days, I'd probably use power for my TV, DVD player, laptop, microwave (occasionally), vent fans, and interior lights.

I will be out of my RV with all appliances turned off during the day, so the day will be used to recharge the batteries.
benjamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:32 PM   #4

Have you considered starting out with a small ultra-quiet generator like an EU2000 and seeing if that meets your needs? I think you are going to need at least 4 batteries to go that long and run that much stuff on inverter power. Not saying it is not do-able, but you are looking at a pretty considerable price tag I think if you add solar to the mix as well.

Old 03-24-2011, 06:27 AM   #5