Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-21-2017, 07:34 PM   #1

Minimum Tow vehicle for 2016 RL 20

I have a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with 4.7 V8. The tow specs indicate 5000 GVW and my trailer is 3500 lbs. I think this could do it, but not really comfortable with it. Any input is appreciated.
dlbarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 06:47 AM   #2

I will respond to this question knowing you posted about a cross country trip towing next year. I think an upgrade to a newer 1/2 ton truck would be wise. Your GC is 17 years old now and while the 4.7 in them made them quite fast and drive well, I doubt a long trip would be comfortable. I back that up with I have only ever driven that vintage GC with the 4.7 for 1 trip for work so I have no towing experience with one.

That said, I pulled my 28BHBE (8500 # loaded) with a 2013 Tundra and while it pulled great and handled the trailer awesome with my ProPride hitch, I knew any trip over 3-4 hours was getting to the point of being too much work driving! I was always watching for the next hill and anticipating getting a little more speed so I didn't have to hammer the throttle to climb at speed. I was also watching the stops making sure I had plenty of room. This year I switched to a Ram 2500 Cummins and the pull is 100% different. I just set the cruise and motor along. Don't worry about hills or stopping with the engine braking and transmission downshifting. Made a 7 hour pull from my home in central NY to south of Dover, DE and made the trip in only 1/2 hour longer than we have done when not towing. The upgrade in TV's was worth every penny! (and it is a LOT of them!)

2017 28BHBE Kitchen skylight, remote control and Aluminum wheels hitched by ProPride 3P
2017 Ram 2500 CC LB 4x4 Big Horn Cummins
LiftedAWDAstro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:09 AM   #3
Site Team