Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-28-2018, 09:25 AM   #1

All about "hydraulic surge brakes" please.

My 'new to me' 2001 Jayco Heritage PUP appears to have a "Hydraulic Brake System". I am new to pulling anything with its own brake system. So I have some questions please.

- From the manual, I do understand mostly how this system works.
But I do not understand how the safety "breakaway cable" activates this hydraulic system? it seems it would need some kind of electric system to activate when the cables pulls/breaks? because it is obviously going to be separated from the tow vehicle tongue/ball hitch..

and

- How can I best determine if everything is up to snuff with the system?

I am very familiar with drum brakes on cars and bleeding them. I am assuming this is similar to what is on my camper. But uses the tongue weight to pump the brakes vs a human foot on a pedal, so how would one bleed/flush this system?

I realize also I should check the Master cylinder fluid level (which I will do today). And I assume it has auto DOT3 brake fluid in it?
As for testing the braking function, the best I can find on the forum is that "you should not feel the camper "push" the tow vehicle". This seems a bit to subjective to me.

Is there a better way to be sure I am getting all I should out of this brake system?

thank you thank you thank you
bmadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 12:13 PM   #2

Maybe this article will help.

https://www.centrevilletrailer.com/h...shooting-tips/
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 12:25 PM   #3

Good link Sundancer!