Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-24-2020, 12:28 AM   #1

new guy with new popup (new to me)

hi folks. I recently acquired a 1996 Jayco Eagle 8. so it is an 800 of some kind... is there more to the number or is Eagle 8 all I need when it comes time to source parts etc.

VIN is... 1UJA013ET1FAoooo my understanding is that the FA is the part of the code I need for certain parts. thats where my confusion is. exactly what model is that

I got a book with it but its pretty generic... is that just the way they are? I'm a professional mechanic (aircraft) & used to good documentation, so I'm on the lookout for the right parts & maintenance manuals

as for the popup itself... condition is actually pretty good for the age. the canvas is better than average & there are no leaks. it has no water heater, but has a refer & furnace. hand pump water supply. no potty, no AC. furnace & refer work. I had to fix one of the latches for the top.

tires were shot... big time. I had to buy 2 new ones. both tires were worn excessively on the inside half, while the outer half of the tread looked really good. whats up with that? it came with a 2nd set of tires on wheels that looked exactly the same. is it a common thing to these popups? and what are the fixes? I took the new ones to a tire shop and was told they don't balance them. I balanced them on a stand I use for my motorcycle wheels
dogmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 04:58 AM   #2

The tire wear indicates a bent axle.
Good idea to check the wheel bearings replace or repack as needed and replace the seals.
Old 09-24-2020, 05:13 AM   #3

Welcome to the site from SW Michigan! Sounds like you have a good project. Good luck with everything and happy trails!

2018 Jayco White Hawk 31BH 34'
2004 Surveyor by Forest River 29'
1996 Coachman Catalina 25'
2002 Jayco 12UTD PopUp
TrashMan Videos